FM 100-5: Tentative field service regulations operations, 1939Obsolete. FM 100-5, Tentative Field Service Regulations, Operations, is published for the information and guidance of all concerned. It contains the principles of troop leading and combat in the combined arms in maneuver warfare and constitutes the basis of instruction of all arms and services for field service.
FM 100-5: field service regulations - operations, 1941Obsolete. This manual supersedes the 1939 version. The 1941 edition of FM 100-5 encapsulates the state of Army doctrine on the eve of America’s entry into World War II. This is the doctrine the Army took into the great Louisiana maneuvers of 1941. Later, it also guided the American soldiers through combat in places as diverse as New Guinea and Tunisia. It contains the doctrines of leading troops in combat and tactics of the combined arms and constitutes the basis of instruction of all arms and services for field service. Not until June 1944 did a new manual supersede this one.
FM 100-5: field service regulations - operations, 1944Obsolete. FM 100-5, Field Service Regulations, Operations, is published for the information and guidance of all concerned. It contains the doctrines of leading troops in combat and tactics of the combined arms and constitutes the basis of instruction of all arms and services for field service.
FM 100-5: field service regulations - operations, 1949Obsolete. Operations manual covering organization, arms and services, the exercise of command, combat intelligence, reconnaissance and counterintelligence, security, troop movements, special operations, airborne operations and lessons of the Pearl Harbor attack. This manual supersedes FM 100-5, 15 June 1944.
FM 100-5: field service regulations, operations, 1954Obsolete. Changes 1-3 are included with this manual. "FM 100-5 is published for the use of all concerned. This manual reflects policy, doctrine, and procedures current at the time of preparation. Developments in the tactical and technological fields, plus organizational changes in the Army will make corrections and changes necessary from time to time."
FM 100-5: field service regulations - operations, 1962Obsolete. This manual is a guide for operations of U.S. Army forces in the field. The doctrine contained herein applies to all levels of command in a theater of operations, and particularly to levels above division.
FM 100-5: operations of Army forces in the field, 1968Obsolete. This manual is a guide for operations of U.S. Army forces in the field. The doctrine contained herein applies to all levels of command in a theater of operations, and particularly to levels above division. Military operations are actions, or the carrying out of strategic, tactical, service, training, or administrative military missions. They encompass all combat activity, including movement, supply, attack defense, and maneuvers needed to gain the objectives of any battle or campaign. The discussion of military operations is necessarily broad in scope but provides a basis for common understanding and the conduct of training.
FM 100-5: Operations, 1976Obsolete. This manual sets forth the basic concepts of US Army doctrine. These concepts form the foundation for what is taught in our service schools, and the guide for training and combat development throughout the Army. Most important, this manual presents principles for accomplishing the Army's primary mission winning the land battle. FM 100-5, the capstone of the Army's system of field manuals, covers the relationships among operations. Details of those operations are described in other manuals. This manual is intended for use by commanders and trainers at all echelons.
FM 100-5: Operations, 1982Obsolete. FM 100-5 is the Army's keystone How to Fight manual. It is consistent with NATO doctrine and strategy. FM 100-5 provides operational guidance for use by commanders and trainers at all echelons. It forms the foundation of Army service school curricula and serves as the basis for developing Army doctrine, training, and materiel systems and organizations.
FM 100-5 1986: OperationsObsolete. FM 100-5, Operations, is the Army's keystone warfighting manual. It explains how Army forces plan and conduct campaigns, major operations, battles, and engagements in conjunction with other services and allied forces. It furnishes the authoritative foundation for subordinate doctrine, force design, materiel acquisition, professional education, and individual and unit training. It applies to Army forces worldwide, but must be adapted to the specific strategic and operational requirements of each theater. While emphasizing conventional military operations, it recognizes that Army forces must be capable of operating effectively in any battlefield environment, including low intensity conflict and on the nuclear and chemical battlefield. Employment of nuclear and chemical weapons by US forces is governed by US national policy. FM 100-5 is compatible with and will serve as the US implementing document for NATO land forces tactical doctrine (Allied Tactical Publication 35A), but is both more theoretical and more general so as to meet US needs in other theaters. US troops operating in the framework of FM 100-5 will execute NATO's forward defense plans in compliance with ATP 35A. As the Army's principal tool of professional self-education in the science and art of war, FM 100-5 presents a stable body of operational and tactical principles rooted in actual military experience and capable of providing a long-term foundation for the development of more transitory tactics, techniques, and procedures. It provides operational guidance for use by commanders and trainers at all echelons and forms the foundation for Army service school curricula. FM 100-5 emphasizes flexibility and speed, mission type orders, initiative among commanders at all levels, and the spirit of the offense. This edition reaffirms the Army's doctrinal thrust introduced in 1982. It reflects the lessons learned since that time from combat operations, teachings, exercises, wargames, and comments from the Army in the field. Central aspects of AirLand Battle doctrine-its recognition of the importance of the operational level of warfare, its focus on the seizure and retention of the initiative, and its insistence on the requirement for multi-service cooperation-remain unaltered. The basic tenets of AirLand Battle doctrine- initiative, agility, depth, and synchronization- are reemphasized.
FM 100-5: Operations, 1993Obsolete. The US Army is doctrine-based doctrinally capable of handling large campaigns as well as combat in a variety of scenarios. FM 100-5 is the Army’s keystone warfighting doctrine. It is a guide for Army commanders. It describes how to think about the conduct of campaigns, major operations, battles, engagements, and operations other than war. It addresses fundamentals of a force-projection army with forward-deployed forces. It applies to the Total Army, active and reserve components as well as Army civilians. Finally, FM 100-5 furnishes the authoritative foundation for subordinate doctrine, force design, materiel acquisition, professional education, and individual and unit training.
This publication is superseded by FM 3-0 2001.
FM 3-0
FM 3-0: Operations - 2001FM 3-0 establishes the Army’s keystone doctrine for full spectrum operations. The doctrine holds warfighting as the Army’s primary focus and recognizes that the ability of Army forces to dominate land warfare also provides the ability to dominate any situation in military operations other than war. The foundation of FM 3-0 is built upon global strategic responsiveness for prompt, sustained Army force operations on land as a member of a joint or multinational force.
FM 3-0: Operations - 2008This edition of FM 3-0, the first update since September 11, 2001, is a revolutionary departure from past doctrine. It describes an operational concept where commanders employ offensive, defensive, and stability or civil support operations simultaneously as part of an interdependent joint force to seize, retain, and exploit the initiative, accepting prudent risk to create opportunities to achieve decisive results.
FM 3-0: Operations - 2017FM 3-0, Operations, provides a doctrinal approach for our theater armies, corps, divisions and brigades to address
the challenges of shaping operational environments, preventing conflict, prevailing during large-scale ground
combat, and consolidating gains to follow through on tactical success. FM 3-0 is about how we deter adversaries
and fight a peer threat today, with today’s forces and today’s capabilities.
FM 3-0: Operations - 2017, Change 1, 2017FM 3-0, Operations, provides a doctrinal approach for our theater armies, corps, divisions and brigades to address the challenges of shaping operational environments, preventing conflict, prevailing during large-scale ground combat, and consolidating gains to follow through on tactical success. FM 3-0 is about how we deter adversaries and fight a peer threat today, with today's forces and today's capabilities.
FM 3-0: Operations - 2022FM 3-0 expands on the Army’s capstone doctrine for multidomain operations described in ADP 3-0. It describes how Army forces contribute landpower to the joint force and integrate joint capabilities into operations on land to achieve military objectives and fulfill policy aims. FM 3-0 focuses on large-scale combat operations and their relationship to the full range of military operations that support joint campaigning.
