Skip to main content

Circulation: Borrowing Privileges

See what's available for our patrons at the CARL.

Borrowing Privileges

All library accounts are family accounts, set up under the sponsor's name. Only a sponsor or the spouse of a sponsor with a valid DoD ID are eligible to set up a library account. To check out materials and to view our licensed databases you need to have a library card. A person must meet one of the following criteria with appropriate identification:

  • Members of the military and their spouses stationed at Fort Leavenworth
  • Resident CGSOC, SAMS, ASLSP and UFMCS Students
  • Fort Leavenworth civilian employees to include Faculty and Instructors
  • Contractors with valid Fort Leavenworth CAC cards
  • Members of National Guard, retired military members or retired civilian employees living within a 50 mile radius of Leavenworth
  • Employees of USD 207
  • TDY personnel to include CES, HTS, and PCC attendees with a valid DoD ID on Temporary Duty at Fort Leavenworth (will check out materials with DoD ID)
Anyone who does not meet one of the above criteria can request permission to check out material. Approval is made on a case by case basis.

Collection Limits By Borrower Type

Item Types Maximum Number of Items Loan Period Number of Renewals
General Collection 100 3 months 3
CGSC Course Reserve Collection Subject to total maximum 3 months 0
CGSC Core Collection Subject to total maximum 1 year 0
Recreational Books 50 2 weeks 3
Audio Books, Playaways & Video Games 5 2 weeks 3
Entertainment, Educational & Children's DVDs 5 1 week 3
CGSC Media Reserve DVDs 3 5 days 3
Item Types Maximum Number of Items Loan Period Number of Renewals
General Collection 100 3 months 3
SAMS Reserve 200 3 months 3
Recreational Books 50 2 weeks 3
Audio Books, Playaways & Video Games 5 2 weeks 3
Entertainment, Educational & Children's DVDs 5 1 week 3
Item Types Maximum Number of Items Loan Period Number of Renewals
General Collection 100 3 months 3
Faculty Reserve Subject to total maximum 1 year 0
CGSC Course Reserve Collection Subject to total maximum 3 months 0
CGSC Core Collection Subject to total maximum 1 year 0
Recreational Books 50 2 weeks 3
Audio Books, Playaways & Video Games 5 2 weeks 3
Entertainment, Educational & Children's DVDs 5 1 week 3
Faculty DVDs 10 3 months 3
CGSC Media Reserve DVDs 3 5 days 3
Item Types Maximum Number of Items Loan Period Number of Renewals
General Collection 100 3 months 3
Faculty Reserve Subject to total maximum 1 year 0
SAMS Reserve 200 3 months 3
Recreational Books 50 2 weeks 3
Audio Books, Playaways & Video Games 5 2 weeks 3
Entertainment, Educational & Children's DVDs 5 1 week 3
Faculty DVDs 10 3 months 3
Item Types Maximum Number of Items Loan Period Number of Renewals
General Collection & Recreational Books 10  2 weeks* 3
Audio Books, Playaways & Video Games 5 1 week* 3
Entertainment, Educational & Children's DVDs 5 1 week* 3
Item Types Maximum Number of Items Loan Period Number of Renewals
General Collection 20 2 weeks 3
Recreational Books 50 2 weeks 3
Audio Books, Playaways & Video Games 5 2 weeks 3
Entertainment, Educational & Children's DVDs 5 1 week 3
Loading ...

Renewals: You may renew most items up to 3 times if no other borrowers have requested it. To renew:

  •   Visit the Circulation desk – The borrower must verify they are still in possession of the titles they are requesting to renew
  •   Visit the "My Account" tab on the library's online catalog and log in with your library barcode number to renew before the due date.
  •   Call 913-758-3001 - a limited number of items may be eligible for a phone renewal

Requests/Holds: A request can be made by a borrower on an item that is checked out. Patrons will be notified when the item is available and the item will be held at the Circulation desk for 10 days. Only items with no copies on the shelves will be processed for holds.

Overdue, Lost and Damaged Items: The CARL charges no overdue fees. Failure to return library items within the time limits specified and/or failure to pay for materials lost by the borrower may result in suspension of library services to include borrowing of further materials, use of databases and other services. Privileges are restored after recalled or overdue items are returned, renewed or replaced. For information about the CARL's item replacement policy, visit the Circulation desk.

Reserves and Course Materials: Course Reserve Collections can be set up by instructors with library materials for which there is a demand during a course. Materials may be placed on reserve or In Library Use Only depending upon availability of the items at the discretion of the instructor. If items are available in the library’s collections to be placed on reserve, please allow a minimum of two weeks from when the items need to be available. If materials need to be purchased, please allow for a minimum of 6 weeks.

Out-Processing/Clearing: All Resident CGSOC students out-processing/clearing from Fort Leavenworth are required to out-process the library before leaving. Before departure, all library items must be returned or replaced if lost or damaged. The library participates in the centralized out-processing for the students.

Library Study Carrels: Study carrels on the second floor of the library are reserved for SAMS and CGSC Scholar Programs. Additional study areas and study tables throughout the library are available to everyone.

ASLSP Students: ASLSP Students have library accounts that they use to check out readings and research materials throughout the year as well as a book issue account that is only used for the books issued to them at the start of the school year.

TDY Personnel: TDY personnel are not issued library cards, but will check out from the Circulation desk with their ID. *Check out period is up to but not to exceed the end of the TDY period.

Non-Resident CGSOC Students

Non-Resident CGSOC students are not eligible for a library account (unless fitting into an alternate category listed under "Others"). Non-Resident CGSOC students are not eligible to check out from the CGSC CORE and CGSC Electives collections even if fitting into an alternate category.

Non-Resident students can gain access from home to the CARL's databases by visiting the "Master Library and CGSC Resources" link on Blackboard.

For any questions, please call the Circulation desk at 913-758-3001 or use the Ask a Librarian feature on our homepage.