Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Resources: Articles, Monographs, Theses

July 2020

Find journal, magazine, newspaper articles or monographs on your topic in our databases.

TIP - The references or bibliographies in the articles, monographs or theses can lead you to more resources.
TIP - You can start with Google but you should not end there.  Let the CARL librarians and the library's databases do the initial vetting for reliable sources.

CARL Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) - The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text - This bibliographic database covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century to the present. For more than 50 years, researchers have used this database to discover groundbreaking work.

JSTOR - Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.  All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.

Military & Government Collection - Providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database covers about 400 titles, with the full text of nearly 300 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets. Includes Country Watch's Country Review.

Military Database (ProQuest) - Scholarly and technical literature covering a broad range of military-related topics.

ProQuest Research Library - A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper articles about business, education, health, humanities, law, military, science, psychology, social science, women´s interest, etc.

Open resources

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals - Covers significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing in English-language military and aeronautical periodicals.

DTIC - contains a wealth of mostly FULLTEXT military related documents, including SAMS Monographs, CGSC MMAS Theses, and student papers from schools like the Naval Postgraduate School, Air University, and the Army War College.

RefSeek is a web search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than five billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.

Google Scholar - The results returned from this search engine include academic journal articles and other scholarly resources.

CARL Home Page