European Relations with Russia by
Russia's 2014 annexation of Crimea has challenged the integrity of Europe's territorial borders and had a broader negative impact on the European security environment. This report analyzes how Europeans perceive the Russian threat--whether European states regard Russia's policy in eastern and northern Europe as a security priority, how they have responded to Russian behavior, and how officials see the future of Russo-European relations.
Russia and the West after the Ukrainian Crisis by
Given Russia's annexation of Crimea and continued aggression in eastern Ukraine, Europe must reassess its approach to a regional security environment previously thought to be stable and relatively benign. This report analyzes the vulnerability of European states to possible forms of Russian influence, pressure, and intimidation and examines four areas of potential European vulnerability: military, trade and investment, energy, and politics.
Russian Political War by
This book cuts through the misunderstandings about Russia's geopolitical challenge to the West, presenting this not as 'hybrid war' but 'political war.' Russia seeks to antagonise: its diplomats castigate Western 'Russophobia' and cultivate populist sentiment abroad, while its media sells Russia as a peaceable neighbour and a bastion of traditional social values. Its spies snoop, and even kill, and its hackers and trolls mount a 24/7 onslaught on Western systems and discourses. This is generally characterised as 'hybrid war,' but this is a misunderstanding of Russian strategy. Drawing extensively not just on their writings but also decades of interactions with Russian military, security and government officials, this study demonstrates that the Kremlin has updated traditional forms of non-military 'political war' for the modern world. Aware that the West, if united, is vastly richer and stronger, Putin is seeking to divide, and distract, in the hope it will either accept his claim to Russia's great-power status - or at least be unable to prevent him. In the process, Russia may be foreshadowing how the very nature of war is changing: political war may be the future. This book will be of much interest to students of strategic studies, war studies, Russian politics and security studies.
Armies of Russia's War in Ukraine by
In February 2014, street protests in Kiev and other Ukrainian cities led to the ousting of the Russian-backed President Yanukovych. The so-called Euromaidan Revolution saw many changes to Ukraine's constitution, but the violent reaction in the east and south of the country led to armed counter-revolution, unofficially backed by Russia. This conflict is the essential example of Russia's new policy of 'hybrid warfare', which blends propaganda, misinformation, and the deployment of 'deniable' Special Forces and regular troops alongside proxies and mercenaries to achieve its strategic ends. Using his extensive contacts in both Russia and Ukraine, and access to a mass of official and unofficial sources, Mark Galeotti presents a thorough and intriguing primer on all the forces involved in the ongoing conflict in Ukraine. Supported by specially commissioned artwork, he analyses both the progress of the war, and what it teaches us about Russia's current military capabilities.
The Crimean Nexus by
How the West sleepwalked into another Cold War A native of Yalta, Constantine Pleshakov is intimately familiar with Crimea's ethnic tensions and complex political history. Now, he offers a much-needed look at one of the most urgent flash points in current international relations: the first occupation and annexation of one European nation's territory by another since World War II. Pleshakov illustrates how the proxy war unfolding in Ukraine is a clash of incompatible world views. To the U.S. and Europe, Ukraine is a country struggling for self-determination in the face of Russia's imperial nostalgia. To Russia, Ukraine is a "sister nation," where NATO expansionism threatens its own borders. In Crimea itself, the native Tatars are Muslims who are vehemently opposed to Russian rule. Engagingly written and bracingly nonpartisan, Pleshakov's book explains the missteps made on all sides to provide a clear, even-handed account of a major international crisis.
The Ukrainian Crisis by
The conflict in eastern Ukraine continues with little sign of a negotiated resolution. Crimea has been absorbed into the Russian Federation, and celebrates the third anniversary of its ¿integration¿ in March 2017. The ongoing nature of the conflict contrasts with a lack of academic exploration of the issues surrounding it. To date, most analyses have focused on the geopolitical implications of the Ukrainian crisis, such as the impact on NATO-Russia relations, and foreign policy responses to the crisis from a variety of state and supranational actors including the EU and Russia. The role of sub-state and non-state actors, and implications for them, has been largely overlooked. This volume seeks to rectify this by examining a wide array of non-state and sub-state actors that have both played a role in the conflict in Ukraine and been indirectly impacted by it.
The Fight of Our Lives by
"Moving." --The Washington Post When Ukrainian journalist Iuliia Mendel got the call she had been hired to work for President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, she had no idea what was to come. In this frank and moving inside account, Zelenskyy's former press secretary tells the story of his improbable rise from popular comedian to the president of Ukraine. Mendel had a front row seat to many of the key events preceding the 2022 Russian invasion. From attending meetings between Zelenskyy and Putin and other European leaders, visiting the front lines in Donbas, to fielding press inquiries after the infamous phone calls between Donald Trump and Zelenskyy that led to Trump's first impeachment. Mendel saw firsthand Zelenskyy's efforts to transform his country from a poor, backward Soviet state into a vibrant, prosperous European democracy. Mendel sheds light on the massive economic problems facing Ukraine and the entrenched corrupt oligarchs in league with Russia. She witnessed the Kremlin's repeated attacks to discredit Zelenskyy through disinformation and an army of bots and trolls. Woven into her account are details about her own life as a member of Zelenskyy's new Ukraine. Written with the sound of Russian bombs and exploding shells in the background, Mendel details life lived under Russian siege in 2022. She says goodbye to her fiancé who joins the front lines, like so many other Ukrainian men. Throughout this story of Zelenskyy, Ukraine, and its extraordinary people, Iuliia Mendel reminds us of the paramount importance of truth and human values, especially in these darkest of times.
Links and documents regarding the recent Russian invasion of Ukraine.
European deterrence for European assurance: the United States and Russian adventurism in the Crimea. http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p4013coll3/id/3842
Hybrid warfare: the 21st century Russian way of warfare. http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p4013coll3/id/3591
Little masquerade: Russia's evolving employment of Maskirovka. http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p4013coll3/id/3507
Binary thinking in a complex world: the failure of NATO deterrence since 1994 and implications for the NATO readiness action plan. http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p4013coll3/id/3616
Reforming the Ukrainian Armed Forces on a budget. http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p4013coll3/id/3656
Contemporary deterrence on NATO’s eastern front. http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p4013coll3/id/3792
Advent of the Russian Special Operations Command http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p4013coll3/id/3958
From Tukhachevskii to Gerasimov: the evolution of the Russian way of warfare into the information age http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p4013coll3/id/3921
Russia, NATO, and Black Sea Security RAND Report
House of Commons Defence Committee Russia and Ukraine border Tensions
Russian Military Mobilization on Ukraine’s Borders and in Occupied Crimea CRS Report
The Breach: Ukraine’s Territorial Integrity and the Budapest Memorandum Wilson Center
Deep operations : theoretical approaches to fighting deep. https://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p16040coll3/id/321/rec/64
Air defense integration and interoperability challenges within the NATO alliance. https://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p4013coll3/id/4232/rec/78