Skip to main content

Library Materials: Ebooks & Audio Books

May 2019

E-Books

CARL has access to Ebooks and downloadable audiobooks from a variety of sources that require different logins and procedures. Use this guide to learn more about all the resources available to our patrons!

Things to create before you start:

1. Get a CARL Library Card.

2. Create an Adobe ID (www.adobe.com)

3. Create a MyEbsco Account.

4. Create a ProQuest Ebook Central Account (Formerly ebrary).

To Access EBSCOhost Ebooks

1. Log in with your library card number.

2. Log into your Ebsco Account

3. Choose a title.

4. Click Download offline. This prompts a Checkout and Due Date box.

5. Open on your device and enjoy!

To Access Proquest Ebook Book Central

1. Open up your browser (We recommend Firefox for Ebook Central)

2. Log in with your library card number

3. Log into your Ebook Central Account.

4. Choose a title. Click to add to bookshelf or download.

5. Open on your device and enjoy!

Additional Information

1. If using an Android or iOS, use your browser or a third party application such as Bluefire or Tradebit to view your ebook.

Proquest Ebook Central and Ebsco Ebooks

2. Mobile app is required for playback on mobile devices.

Overdrive, 3M Cloud, RBdigital

CARL Ebook Collections


Ebook Central ebook titles are from a range of academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Streaming or downloadable options available. Please check out this guide to get started or checkout ProQuest Ebook Central how to videos here.

Ebsco provides the full-text of thousands of recently published ebooks and audiobooks from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as the full-text of a large number of works in the public domain.

Army MWR Library Ebook Collections

You will need to register for your Army MWR Library Account at the Circulation Desk to access MWR resources.

  • Overdrive (eBooks/eAudiobooks/eVideos)
  • RBdigital (Ebooks/Audiobooks)
  • Ebsco Ebook & Eaudio collection
  • Safari Books
  • Scholastic: BookFLIX, ScienceFLIX, FreedomFLIX, and TrueFLIX

State of Kansas LIbrary Ebook Collections

You will need to register for your Kansas Library Account at the Circulation Desk.

  • 3M Cloud
  • Overdrive
  • RBdigital
  • Enki LIbrary
  • Freading
  • Total Boox
  • BookFLIX
  • Britannica E-Stax

DoD Ebook Collection


You will need to create an account at www.militaryonesource.com

  • Once you're logged in, choose On & Off Base Living, then choose Recreation and Travel.
  • Scroll down to Libraries and choose More, Welfare and Recreation Digital Library.
  • Click on the digital library link. Click the vendor you want to explore and follow the directions.