3x5 Leadership3×5 Leadership is your foremost digital leader development resource so that you can make yourself, your people, and your team or organization better. We believe that by becoming more equipped, educated, and inspired leaders, we can make peoples’ lives and our workplaces better. We must become deliberate leader developers.
21st Century China Center / China Data Lab (CDL)Mission is to produce and disseminate impactful evidence-based research about China and enhance U.S.-China relations by advancing scholarly collaboration, convening policy discussions, and actively communicating with policy makers and the general public in both countries.
Armed Conflict Location & Event Data (ACLED) Project• Disaggregated data collection, analysis, and crisis mapping project. Collects the dates, actors, locations, fatalities, and types of all reported political violence and protest events across Africa, East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, the Middle East, Central Asia and the Caucasus, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Southeastern and Eastern Europe and the Balkans. Conducts analysis to describe, explore, and test conflict scenarios, and makes both data and analysis open for free use by the public.
Arms Control TodayArms Control Today is the monthly flagship publication of the Arms Control Association. Since 1972, Arms Control Today has provided policymakers, journalists, and concerned citizens with authoritative information and analysis on arms control proposals, negotiations, and agreements, and related national security news.
Links to archived versions of the journal from July 1996 through the present issue.
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search EngineBASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Digital National Security Archive (GWU)The Digital National Security Archive is an invaluable online collection of more than 100,000 declassified records documenting historic U.S. policy decisions.
DNSA provides authoritative access to the original documents—most of them formerly classified and previously unavailable—that underlie the crucial decisions facing presidents from Harry Truman to Barack Obama.
Divergent OptionsProvides unbiased, dispassionate, and candid option papers and assessment papers, and also records podcasts
Eurasia Review (Journal & think tank)Provides a venue for analysts and experts to disseminate content on a wide-range of subjects that are often overlooked or under-represented by Western dominated media.
Despite the combined Eurasia and Afro-Asia areas containing over 70% of the world’s population, analysis and news continues to be dominated by a U.S. slant, and that is where Eurasia Review enters the picture by providing alternative, in-depth perspectives on current events.
To achieve this goal, Eurasia Review publishes original content – as well as that provided by collaborating organizations – with distinct and varied points-of-view. As Eurasia Review is an independent organization, our approach is to seek to present all sides to an issue – something that we believe allows readers to then make informed decisions.
The Field Grade LeaderOperated by an active duty officer in the US Army, it is focused on organizational leadership in the military. Vision is to create a forum where leaders could improve themselves while contributing to the profession and be in a space where they could ask for advice and feedback.
From the Green NotebookProvides a platform for leaders to help each other by sharing lessons learned. Lessons that come from our own green notebooks.
Global Terrorism DatabaseThe Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2018 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 180,000 cases.
Harvard Think Tank SearchThink Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations.
Institute for the Study of WarThe Institute for the Study of War advances an informed understanding of military affairs through reliable research, trusted analysis, and innovative education. We are committed to improving the nation’s ability to execute military operations and respond to emerging threats in order to achieve U.S. strategic objectives. ISW is a non-partisan, non-profit, public policy research organization
Lowy InstituteThe Lowy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan international policy think tank located in Sydney, Australia. Ranked as Australia's leading think tank, it provides high-quality research and distinctive perspectives on the international trends shaping Australia and the world.
OAISTER - Publicly available digital library resourcesOAIster.worldcat.org is a freely accessible OCLC site for searching the millions of OAIster records alone. The records will continue to be indexed in OCLC's WorldCat, and will be integrated in WorldCat.org search results along with records from thousands of libraries worldwide. They also will continue to be included in WorldCat Local and WorldCat Local "quick start" search results, and will continue to be available via other OCLC Discovery services.
Paperity - Open access journals & papers.Paperity boasts being the "first multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals and papers." Its focus is helping you avoid paywalls while connecting you to authoritative research.
RANDRAND's research and analysis address issues that impact people around the world including security, health, education, sustainability, growth, and development. Much of this research is carried out on behalf of public and private grantors and clients.
Rising Powers Initiative Research DatabaseThis is an edited bibliography of books and articles on the themes and countries featured in the Rising Powers Initiative. It has been compiled by our research staff and is frequently updated with the latest and most relevant academic and policy publications on the worldviews and identities of aspiring Asian powers and their foreign policy debates; U.S. foreign policy toward the region; energy security and maritime strategies in the Indo-Pacific; and nuclear debates in Asia.
Semantic Scholar - Peer-reviewed researchThis easy-to-use resource uses artificial intelligence to efficiently sort through millions of science-related papers based on your search terms. According to the site, although some articles are behind paywalls, "the data [they] have for those articles is limited."
Small Wars JournalSmall Wars Journal facilitates the exchange of information among practitioners, thought leaders, and students of Small Wars, in order to advance knowledge and capabilities in the field. We hope this, in turn, advances the practice and effectiveness of those forces prosecuting Small Wars in the interest of self-determination, freedom, and prosperity for the population in the area of operations.
The Strategy BridgeNon-profit organization focused on the development of people in strategy, national security, and military affairs
Studies in IntelligenceThe mission of Studies in Intelligence is to stimulate within the Intelligence Community the constructive discussion of important issues of the day, to expand knowledge of lessons learned from past experiences, to increase understanding of the history of the profession, and to provide readers with considered reviews of public literature concerning intelligence.
U.S.-Russia Relations: Quest for StabilityIn the spirit of Carnegie Corporation of New York’s mission to promote the advancement and diffusion of knowledge and understanding, this multimedia educational interactive aims to shed light on issues that are likely to significantly impact the state of international relations for the foreseeable future. This website is intended to help illuminate the contemporary and past history of how these two nations have come to find themselves where they are. We leave readers to make their own judgement of current events.
USC US-China InstituteThe USC U.S.-China Institute informs public discussion of the evolving and multidimensional U.S.-China relationship through policy-relevant research, graduate and undergraduate training, and professional development programs for teachers, journalists, and officials. It produces compelling public events, widely-viewed documentary films, and the popular magazines US-China Today and Asia Pacific Arts.
War on the RocksWar on the Rocks is a platform for analysis, commentary, debate and multimedia content on foreign policy and national security issues through a realist lens. It features articles and podcasts produced by an array of writers with deep experience in these matters: top notch scholars who study war, those who have served or worked in war zones, and more than a few who have done it all.
Biography.comBiography.com database for over 25000 of the greatest lives, past and present.
Digital HistoryThe Digital History website allows you to browse newspaper articles, journals, and general sources for content
related to American history.
Google BooksGoogle Books is a great way to search subjects, quotes, authors, and literary sources. Often, the full text will not be available, but you can search excerpts of books for your required information.
Google ScholarHere you can search topics, and it will return relevant, reputable articles, journals, and research. Full texts are sometimes available, while others are behind paywalls on publisher's websites.
Internet ArchiveDigital non-profit library of millions of free & borrowable books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Also features the Wayback Machine. Commercial network computers only, blocked on NIPR.
iSEEK EducationiSEEK is a search engine specifically crafted for students and teachers. You will find quality content related to various subjects. Searches can be filtered by grade level, location, organization, resource type, and more.
Library of CongressThe U.S. Library of Congress Online Catalog provides access to hundreds of documents in various subjects, including newspapers, audio files, and government documents.
National ArchivesThe National Archives Catalog is a free resource that helps you find historical documents and journals.
Army Center for Military History: Art & PhotosCMH's art and documents collections, library, and reference services are available to private researchers. Official priorities permitting, its historians, curators, and archivists advise researchers on military history and stand ready to share their expertise concerning the location of sources.
Army ImagesThese Army pictures show the nation's most versatile force meeting the challenges of today.
Atlases - United States Military Academy Dept of HistoryIn 1938 the predecessors of today's Department of History at the United States Military Academy began developing a series of campaign atlases to aid in teaching cadets a course entitled, "History of the Military Art." Since then, the Department has produced over six atlases and more than one thousand maps, encompassing not only America’s wars but global conflicts as well.
In keeping abreast with today's technology, the Department of History is providing these maps on the internet as part of the department's outreach program. The maps were created by the United States Military Academy’s Department of History and are in most cases digital versions of maps in the atlases printed by the United States Defense Printing Agency.
BBC Motion GalleryUnparalleled collection spanning from the first BBC broadcast in 1922 to the present day. With more than 125,000 license-ready clips to choose from plus over a million hours of footage from the BBC's Broadcast Archive available on request, this footage has to be seen.
British PathéConsidered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivaled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning 1896-1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.
Creative Commons SearchCC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.
CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.
David Rumsey Map CollectionThe David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.
Defense ImageryDIMOC is the operational arm of Defense Visual Information, a component of Defense Media Activity at Fort Meade, Maryland.
Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) CenterAt the USGS EROS Center, we study land change and produce land change data products used by researchers, resource managers, and policy makers across the nation and around the world. We also operate the Landsat satellite program with NASA, and maintain the largest civilian collection of images of the Earth’s land surface in existence, including tens of millions of satellite images.
G. Robert Vincent Voice LibraryA collection of over 100,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 500,000 persons from all walks of life. Political and cultural leaders and minor players in the human drama are captured and cataloged to serve the research needs of a local, national and international user base.
Military Battle Maps (CSI)This page contains a series of animated maps (utilizing Microsoft Power Point) developed by the Military History Instructional Support Team of CSI.
These maps provide the educator a visual tool to illustrate sequential and complicated movements of armies, navies and air forces throughout American Military History.
Embedded in the presentations are brief explanations of the opposing forces, their movements, and battle or campaign outcomes.
Military Battles and Campaigns Maps Collection (Library of Congress)This contains maps showing campaigns of major military conflicts including troop movements, defensive structures and groundworks, roads to and from sites of military engagements, campsites, and local buildings, topography and vegetation. Some of the maps are manuscripts drawn on the field of battle, while others are engraved including some that have manuscript annotations reflecting the history of the battle or campaign. A significant number of battle maps provide information about the locality that is not available elsewhere such as the location of plantations, the names of landowners in the area, the configuration of small towns and villages, and indications of prior settlement by native Americans.
National Map (US)As one of the cornerstones of the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Geospatial Program, The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response.
Navy Digital ImageryU.S. Navy photographs and digital images on this site are fully released by the U.S. Navy. If used for news and information purposes please credit as "U.S. Navy photo by [photographer's name]."
Navy Fleet Photo GalleryChief of Naval Operations Adm. John M. Richardson. 1264 Images. Continuing Promise. 1503 Images. Counter Piracy Operations. 208 Images.
Photos of the Great War (WWI image archive)Photos of The Great War is an "imagebase" dedicated to the study of World War I. Its mission is to provide photos to historians, authors, students, families of veterans, or anyone with an interest in The Great War. More than this, however, it is a tribute to the millions of souls whose lives were lost or irreversably altered by this terrible conflict. Their memories live on, in some small way, through these images.
World War Two NewsmapsThe U.S. War Department published Newsmaps throughout the second World War. The names and configurations of the responsible sub-agencies changed several times during the war. Notes on many of the Newsmaps indicate that they were distributed by both the Army and the Navy.
Future National Coast Guard MuseumThe National Coast Guard Museum Association is committed to building a world-class Museum that will not only honor the heritage of the U.S. Coast Guard, but also provide to the public a gateway to discover Coast Guard life. Interactive exhibits, programs, public and private partnerships, and Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM)-based educational programs and leadership training opportunities are expected to be a formidable part of the Museum experience.
The National Museum of the Marine CorpsThe National Museum of the Marine Corps is a lasting tribute to U.S. Marines--past, present, and future. Situated on a 135-acre site adjacent to Marine Corps Base Quantico, Virginia, and under the command of Marine Corps University
National Museum of the U.S. NavyThe National Museum of the U.S. Navy collects, preserves, displays, and interprets historic naval artifacts and artwork to inform, educate, and inspire naval personnel and the general public.
National Museum of the United States Air ForceWelcome to the official website of the National Museum of the United States Air Force -- the oldest and largest military aviation museum in the world -- located at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, near Dayton, Ohio. This site is provided as a public service by the National Museum of the United States Air Force, Public Affairs Division.
The National Museum of the United States ArmyThe National Museum of the United States Army will celebrate over 240 years of Army history and honor our nation’s Soldiers – past, present, and future – regular Army, Army Reserves, and the Army National Guard. It’s a massive undertaking led by a joint effort between the U. S. Army and the non-profit organization, The Army Historical Foundation (AHF).
The Price of Freedom: Americans at War (Smithsonian Institute)Americans have gone to war to win their independence, expand their national boundaries, define their freedoms, and defend their interests around the globe. This exhibition examines how wars have shaped the nation’s history and transformed American society. It highlights the service and sacrifice of generations of American men and women.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)International organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Our website includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
PQDT OpenProvides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
Military Magazines Online
Air & Space Power JournalWelcome to the Air & Space Power Journal (ASPJ), the US Air Force’s (USAF) professional peer-reviewed journal and the leading forum for airpower thought and dialogue. ASPJ seeks to foster intellectual discussion and debate among air, space, and cyber power leaders, both domestically and internationally.
Air Force MagazineAir Force Magazine is the monthly journal of the Air Force Association and among the world’s foremost publications on defense, aerospace, and airpower. Covering Air Force operations, programs, technology, as well as its people and history, Air Force Magazine is an authoritative source for insight and analysis about airpower, spacepower, and US and allied defense strategy.
AirmanAirman Magazine, the official magazine of the United States Air Force
All HandsAll Hands Magazine will highlight the Navy's culture and heritage and will strive to be the number one source of information for Sailors about their Navy today. All Hands Magazine is produced by the Defense Media Activity for U.S. Navy Office of Information
ARMOR (eARMOR)ARMOR magazine is the Armor Branch’s professional-development bulletin, published bimonthly.
Army CommunicatorThe Army Communicator is the U.S. Army Signal Regiment’s premier communication outlet. The site explores trends in the Regiment and provides a place for Signal Regiment members to share good ideas and lessons-learned with their colleagues.
Published quarterly until 2016 as printed professional journal, the Army Communicator website now serves as the “Voice of the Regiment” – and covered a variety of topics important to the lives and careers of Signal Soldiers, including features on Signaleers, updates on the latest technological innovations, and frontline viewpoints from Soldiers working in the field.
Australian Defence Force Journal ArchiveThe Australian Journal of Defence and Strategic Studies is published and administered by the Centre for Defence Research at the Australian Defence College on behalf of the Australian Defence Force.
The Canadian Army Journal (archive)Provides a forum for open discussion and the free exchange of critical ideas about defence issues and military matters. Designed to further enhance the continuing development of the profession of arms in Canada and, as it is available to the public at large, to enhance transparency and to better inform Canadians of defence policy issues and initiatives.
Homeland Security AffairsHomeland Security Affairs is the peer-reviewed online journal of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS), providing a forum to propose and debate strategies, policies, and organizational arrangements to strengthen U.S. homeland security. The instructors, participants, alumni, and partners of CHDS represent the leading subject matter experts and practitioners in the field of homeland security.
Installation Publications (DVIDS)Is a state-of-the-art, 24/7 operation owned by DMA (Defense Media Activity) that provides a timely, accurate and reliable connection between the media around the world and the military serving at home and abroad.
Through a network of portable Ku-band satellite transmitters’ located in-theater, robust IP connections, and a distribution hub DVIDS makes available real-time broadcast-quality video, still images and print products as well as immediate interview opportunities with service members, commanders and subject matter experts.
Joint Forces Quarterly (JFQ)Joint Force Quarterly publishes reviews of recent and soon-to-be-released books of professional interest to members of the military and national security communities. Topics can include joint and integrated operations; national security policy and strategy; efforts to combat terrorism; homeland security; and developments in training and joint professional military education. You can review our latest Editor's Choices here or select one you have in mind that would be of value to the JFQ audience.
Military ReviewThe Military Review provides an established and well-regarded Army forum to stimulate original thought and debate on topics related to the art and science of land warfare.
Military Review (Past Issues)Military Review is a refereed journal that provides a forum for original thought and debate on the art and science of land warfare and other issues of current interest to the US Army and the Department of Defense. Military Review has been in constant publication since 1922. It is currently published in English, Portuguese and Spanish. Presently the entire run of the English, French and Arabic editions are available as well as the Spanish edition from 1998 - present and the Portuguese edition from 2003 - Present.
Operational Environment WatchForeign Military Studies Office's (FMSO's) Operational Environment Watch provides translated selections and analysis from a diverse range of foreign articles and other media.
ParametersThe US Army War College Quarterly “Parameters”
Parameters is a refereed journal of ideas and issues. It provides a forum for mature thought on the art and science of land warfare, joint and combined matters, national and international security affairs, military strategy, military leadership and management, military history, ethics, and other topics of significant and current interest to the US Army and the Department of Defense. It serves as a vehicle for continuing the education and professional development of graduates of the US Army War College (USAWC) and other senior military officers, as well as members of government and academia concerned with national security affairs.
PRISM JournalPRISM, NDU’s journal of complex operations, promotes informed discourse among national and international security professionals concerning our complex global security environment and whole-of-community efforts to meet longstanding and emerging challenges.
PS Magazine (all Eisner issues 1-229 digitized)An Army publication on preventive maintenance would hardly be a common choice when deciding what materials to digitize and make available to a wider audience. But publications aren't filled with the incomparable art work of the late Will Eisner (1917-2005). We are pleased to offer a complete run of all Eisner issues, issues 1-229, as well as 3 special issues and 22 index issues, primarily digitized from the print copies held by James Branch Cabell Library Special Collections and Archives. Special thanks go to the PS Magazine Division of the U.S. Army for generously donating 92 issues for scanning to help us fill in the gaps.
PS Magazine (Preventative Maintenance Monthly)TB 43-PS-Series, PS Magazine, is an official publication of the Department of the Army, providing information for all Soldiers assigned to combat and combat support units and all Soldiers with unit maintenance and supply duties. All information published has been reviewed and approved by the agency responsible for the equipment, publication or policy discussed. Application of the information is optional with the user. Masculine pronouns may refer to both genders. PS Magazine is published by the Department of the Army, Redstone Arsenal, AL 35898.
Sea Power MagazineSeapower magazine is the official publications of the Navy League of the United States, an international organization founded in 1902 to support the U.S. sea services. Seapower articles cover a wide range of topics, including national defense; foreign policy; naval affairs; maritime issues; homeland security; and defense research, development and procurement. Seapower coverage focuses on such areas as defense strategies, emerging technologies, and ways to improve the operational concepts and managerial processes of the U.S. sea services. The principal mission of Seapower is to educate Congress and the American people about the activities, requirements, and accomplishments of the sea services and U.S.-flag Merchant Marine.
Soldiers On-LineTo showcase a human side of the American Soldier in action. 'Soldiers' spotlights in-depth feature articles and videos about people, policies, operations, technical developments, trends and ideas of and about the Department of the Army.
Strategic ForumThe Strategic Forum series presents original research by members of NDU as well as other scholars and specialists in national security affairs from the United States and abroad. The opinions, conclusions, and recommendations expressed or implied within are those of the contributors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Defense Department or any other agency of the Federal Government. Visit NDU Press online at ndupress.ndu.edu
Warrior CitizenWarrior Citizen invites articles, story ideas, photographs and other material of interest to members of the U.S. Army Reserve.
"The President's Own" United States Marine Band“The President’s Own” United States Marine Band’s mission is to perform for the President of the United States and the Commandant of the Marine Corps. Founded in 1798 by an Act of Congress, the Marine Band is America’s oldest continuously active professional musical organization. Today, “The President’s Own” is celebrated for its role at the White House and its dynamic public performances, which total more than 500 annually.
U.S. Army BandsArmy Bands provide music throughout the spectrum of military operations to instill in our soldiers the will to fight and win, foster the support of our citizens, and promote our national interests at home and abroad.
The United States Coast Guard BandThe United States Coast Guard Band is the premier band representing the United States Coast Guard and the Department of Homeland Security.
Air Force Historical Research AgencyThe Air Force Historical Research Agency is the repository for Air Force historical documents. The Agency's collection, begun in Washington, DC, during World War II, moved in 1949 to Maxwell Air Force Base, the site of Air University, to provide research facilities for professional military education students, the faculty, visiting scholars, and the general public. It consists today of over 70,000,000 pages devoted to the history of the service, and represents the world's largest and most valuable organized collection of documents on US military aviation.
Air University Library Index to Military PeriodicalsAir University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP) A subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously.
Army Heritage and Education Center (AHEC/MHI)Army Heritage and Education Center (AHEC) is the home of the United States Army Military History Institute which is a repository for unofficial historical materials pertaining to the history of the U.S. Army
Army Regulations (Pentagon Library - Primarily Obsolete)Army Regulations Banner
This is a quick reference guide for retrieving PDF copies of the superseded Army Regulations available in our library catalog, dated back to the 1920s. The AR hyperlinks will direct you to the documents' record in our library catalog, where you can download the PDF.
Calhoun: The NPS Institutional ArchiveCalhoun is the Naval Postgraduate School's digital repository for research materials and institutional publications created by the NPS community. Materials in Calhoun are openly accessible to anyone on the web, and will be preserved for future generations.
Center for Army Lessons Learned (CALL)The Center for Army Lessons Learned leads the Army Lessons Learned Program and delivers timely and relevant information to resolve gaps, enhance readiness, and inform modernization. The Center for Army Lessons Learned is forward thinking, aligning resources to deliver timely and relevant information, fostering readiness of the fielded force and informing the future force.
Center for Cyberspace Research (CCR)The Center for Cyberspace Research, conducts cyber security and cyber operations research at the Master's and PhD levels. CCR affiliated faculty teach and direct graduate research focusing on understanding and developing advanced cyber-related theories and technologies, such as critical infrastructure protection, cyber-physical systems, network intrusion detection and avoidance, insider threat mitigation, cyberspace situational awareness, malicious software detection and analysis, software protection, and anti-tamper technologies.
Combatant CommandsThe Defense Department has 10 combatant commands, each with a geographic or functional mission that provides command and control of military forces in peace and war.
Combat Studies Institute (CSI) PressThe Combat Studies Institute provides a wide range of military historical and educational support to the Combined Arms Center, Training and Doctrine Command, and the United States Army. CSI researches, writes, and publishes (via the CSI Press) original interpretive works on issues of relevance to our Army and the defense of our Nation.
Command and General Staff College Annual Reports 1882-1936The Library has digitized the annual reports of the School for Infantry and Cavalry (now the Command and General Staff College) from 1882-1936. They include the names of students, instructors and other faculty, as well as discussing the growing pains of the new school.
Defense Casualty Analysis System (DCAS)The central objective of DCAS is to collect and maintain U.S. casualty information on warfighters who have fallen in global or regional conflicts involving the United States. This site is maintained by the Defense Manpower Data Center (DMDC).
While this data is used to support and influence many practical objectives, DMDC understands the sensitivity of this information and extends its respect to families and friends across our Nation who have lost loved ones to the wars and conflicts described here.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)Resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. Contains student papers from Major DOD Schools, After Action Reports, Senior Officer Debriefs, Command Histories, and many other useful military documents. Many documents are available in PDF format.
Department of DefenseThe Department of Defense provides the military forces needed to deter war and ensure our nation’s security.
Foreign Military Studies Office (FMSO)The U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Command G-2’s Foreign Military Studies Office discovers and describes open source, foreign perspective insights of understudied and unconsidered aspects of the operational environment. FMSO’s products are integral to critical thinking in the Army’s leadership, analytic communities, and military education, and wherever there is a professional interest in what “they think they think.”
History of Army Officer EducationThis guide is meant as a starting point for lesser known sources on the history of Army Officer Education. There are no journal articles or newspaper articles listed from the CARL's journal subscriptions, although search terms and links to the databases are provided for assistance.
Joint Lessons Learned Information System (JLLIS)JLLIS is the automated knowledge management system that supports implementation of the CJCS’s JLLP. The JLLIS workflow processes facilitate the collection, tracking, management, sharing, collaborative resolution & dissemination of lessons learned to improve the development/readiness of the Joint Force.
Mad Scientist LaboratoryU.S. Army initiative and a community of action that continually explores the future through collaborative partnerships and continuous dialogue with academia, industry and government
Military Legal ResourcesThe William Winthrop Memorial Library at the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's Legal Center & School in Charlottesville, VA, holds extensive collections of primary source materials and publications in the field of military law. Selections from these collections are now being made accessible in full text PDF versions via the Library of Congress Federal Research Division (FRD) Web site. As more materials are converted to digital formats, they will be added to this page.
Modern War InstituteThe Modern War Institute at West Point generates new knowledge for the profession of arms, enhances the West Point curriculum, and provides the Army and the Nation with an intellectual resource for solving military problems. MWI has three mutually supporting functions: Research, Educate, and Integrate.
Nafziger DocumentsThis collection began with the author's interest in Napoleonic Wars, and steadily grew to other areas because of the gaming public's interest in these highly detailed historical orders of battle. Sources range from published works to actual archival documents, which represent the largest single source. Nearly all orders of battle break down to the regimental level. The availability of strength figures and artillery equipment varies from period to period.
Naval History and Heritage CommandThe Naval History and Heritage Command traces its lineage to 1794, when the Navy Department Library was established under the Naval Bureau, which was part of the War Department in Philadelphia. In 1800, President John Adams asked Benjamin Stoddert, the first Secretary of the Navy, to prepare a catalog of professional books best suited for a naval library. Today, the NHHC is the central resource for today’s operational Navy and acts as the service's institutional memory.
PubDefense Search (Public Access DTIC)PubDefense provides access to journal articles and conference papers, and related material, that are the result of DoD and ODNI/IARPA-funded research. The database contains a collection of published journal articles and accepted manuscripts. Access to the DoD and ODNI/IARPA-funded full-text of items in this collection will be available after a 12-month embargo.
Quick Search ASSISTQuick Search is a public website that lets users search for defense and federal specifications and standards, military handbooks, commercial item descriptions, data item descriptions, MS detail drawings, Qualified Product Lists (QPLs), and related technical documents prepared in accordance with the policies and procedures of the Defense Standardization Program (DSP). In most cases, users may download documents that have been cleared for public release. Metadata and files for indexed documents are drawn from ASSIST (https://assist.dla.mil). Both ASSIST and Quick Search are updated during a nightly process that runs each business day. QPL data is drawn from the Qualified Products Database, which is also updated each business day.
Reports Of The General Board, United States Forces, European TheaterThe General Board was established by General Orders 128, Headquarters, European Theater of Operations, United States Army, dated 17 June 1945, as amended by General Orders 182, dated 7 August 1945, and General Orders 312, dated 20 November 1945, Headquarters, United States Forces, European Theater, to prepare a factual analysis of the strategy, tactics, and administration employed by the United States forces in the European Theater. Included are reports 1-131. They are organized by section.
Society for Military HistoryThe Society is dedicated to promoting the study of military history in the United States. The web site describes military history programs, lists future conferences, and has links to Internet sites focusing on military studies in the United States and Europe.
Special Inspector General for Afghanistan Reconstruction (SIGAR)SIGAR provides independent and objective oversight of the $136.97 billion the U.S. has provided to implement reconstruction programs in Afghanistan. SIGAR's core value of excellence, independence, and integrity guide its audits, investigations, and inspections.
Virtual Vietnam ArchiveThe Virtual Vietnam Archive enables researchers interested in this remarkable period in our world history to conduct research directly from universities.
World War I: Trenches on the WebAn History of the Great War of 1914 to 1918 presented in internet format. Contains various articles and features from authors around the world.
The Price of Freedom: Americans at War (Smithsonian Institute)Americans have gone to war to win their independence, expand their national boundaries, define their freedoms, and defend their interests around the globe. This exhibition examines how wars have shaped the nation’s history and transformed American society. It highlights the service and sacrifice of generations of American men and women.
The American Presidency ProjectOur goal today is to be recognized as the authoritative, non-partisan on-line source for presidential public documents. By providing easy access to useful information, we seek to promote a more informed citizenry of the United States, high quality scholarly and media analysis, and a better understanding of American democracy throughout the world.
Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThe Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is a directory of publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Here you can browse more than 500,000 records, including direct links to those available online.
CIA Records Search Tool CRESTThe Central Intelligence Agency was created in 1947 with the signing of the National Security Act by President Harry S. Truman. The act also created a Director of Central Intelligence (DCI) to serve as head of the United States intelligence community; act as the principal adviser to the President for intelligence matters related to the national security; and serve as head of the Central Intelligence Agency.
CIA World FactbookThe CIA World Factbook is a great resource for finding facts about every country in the world, including information about countries history, geography, transportation, and more.
DoD Directives Division - Executive Services DirectorateWelcome to the Directives Division homepage. The Directives Division administers and operates the DoD Issuances Program, the DoD Information Collections Program, DOD Forms Management Program, GAO Affairs, and the DoD Plain Language Program for the Office of the Secretary of Defense.
Government Accountability OfficeThe Government Accountability Office is the U.S. government's audit
institution and is part of the legislative branch. GAO provides Congress,
the heads of executive agencies, and the public with timely, fact-based,
non-partisan information that can be used to improve government and save
taxpayers billions of dollars.
Government Publications Office (GPO)The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Making of AmericaThe Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceThe National Criminal Justice Reference Service provides articles and other resources focused on criminal
justice and drug-related information. It is funded by the U.S. government and provides links to full-text
articles whenever possible.
NATONATO (the North Atlantic Treaty Organization) is an international alliance that consists of 29 member states from North America and Europe. It was established at the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty on 4 April 1949.
Treaty DatabaseWelcome to VILP - the multilingual database for international treaties!
You can find treaties by picking a law section, by sorting the treaty list or by using the relevancy guided full text search.
You may also choose between different treaty languages or download treaties in pdf Format if needed.
UNdataUNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point.
United Nations Digital LibraryThe Dag Hammarskjöld Library creates content, data and metadata related to UN information, resources, publications, and documents. Our products include: bibliographic metadata, Index to Proceedings, Index to Speeches, Voting Records, UNBIS Thesaurus, research guides and frequently asked questions.
The United Nations Treaty CollectionThe Secretary-General of the United Nations is the depositary of more than 560 multilateral treaties which cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment.
United States Government ManualThe manual includes leadership tables and describes agency activities and programs of the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of Government, as well as activities and programs of quasi-official agencies and international organizations in which the United States participates as a member.
US Executive Branch Web SitesThis page contains Executive Branch sites only. With the time we have available, it is not possible to list every department agency. For more detail, see the United States Government Manual.
Navy TimesThe Navy Times is the oldest and most trusted source for news and information about U.S. sailors, the military and the DoD.
PoliticoPOLITICO strives to be the dominant source for news on politics and policy in power centers across every continent where access to reliable information, nonpartisan journalism and real-time tools create, inform and engage a global citizenry.
Stars and StripesStars and Stripes provides independent news and information to the U.S. military community, including active-duty servicemembers, DoD civilians, veterans, contractors, and their families. Unique among Department of Defense authorized news outlets, Stars and Stripes is governed by the principles of the First Amendment.
Task and PurposeMilitary and veteran-focused digital media company founded in 2014. Provides authentic reporting and perspectives on the stories that matter to military members, veterans, and the broader American public.
E-Books & E-Publishing
Air Force E-PublishingThe Air Force Departmental Publishing Office (AFDPO), under the leadership of the Director, Secretary of the Air Force Administrative Assistant, Information Management (SAF/AAI), implements Air Force Publications and Forms Management guidance and serves as the Headquarters Publications and Forms manager. The operation maintains and manages the e-Publishing website , assists OPR's with creating and developing publications and forms, provides customer service support, procures special printing jobs for senior leadership, and unique Departmental publications and forms.
Marine Corps PublicationsThis page provides direction to authentic current digital versions of publications issued by Headquarters Marine Corps Staff Agencies, Major Commands, and other DoD and Federal Agencies that issue publications used by the Marine Corps. Not all publications in use by the Marine Corps have been digitized, but this is the official source for those that have.
Project Gutenberg E-booksProject Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. Works on commercial network, not NIPR.
Bioline InternationalBioline International is a resource tool that provides access to open access research from developing countries. This is a great resource to find authoritative sources on health, biodiversity, environmental changes, conservation, and international development. Works on commercial network, not NIPR computers.
BioMed CentralBioMed Central provides open access research in more than 290 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of biology, clinical medicine, and health.
Europe PMCThe Europe PMC provides access to life science articles, books, patents, and clinical guidelines. Although some of the articles are behind a paywall, there are 3.9 million full texts available.
PubChemPubChem is a unique tool for researchers, allowing you to search by bio-assay, compound, or substance.
PubMedPubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
U.S. Army Medical Department - AMEDD Center of History & Heritage (ACHH)ACHH consists of a History and Archives branch and the AMEDD Regiment. Although separate, the AMEDD Museum is a partner in the presentation and preservation of AMEDD History. ACHH collects, preserves, and interprets the history of the AMEDD in order to educate and inform, serving as a multifaceted resource for the history of the AMEDD.
Caregivers and Family Members of Veterans ResourcesVA values your commitment as a partner in our pledge to care for those who have "borne the battle," and we have several support and service options designed with you in mind. Many programs are available both in and out of your home to help you care for the Veteran you love and for yourself.
Traumatic Brain Injury Center of ExcellenceDVBIC is the traumatic brain injury (TBI) center of excellence for the Defense Health Agency (link is external). Founded in 1992 by Congress, DVBIC’s responsibilities have grown as its network of care and treatment sites has grown.
GulfLINK - Office of the Special Assistant for Gulf War IllnessesGulfLINK was established in August 1995 to provide on-line access to medical, operational, and intelligence documents from the 1990-1991 Gulf War. Its purpose was and is to provide Service members, veterans, and any interested person with information on what happened during that war that might have affected the health of those who served.
The Military Family Research Institute (Purdue University)MFRI conducts research and outreach for communities and professionals who serve military and veteran families. We collaborate to help shape policies, programs and practices that improve their overall well-being. We also help communities and organizations use research and best practices to achieve their goals within the military and veteran space. Will you join us in this mission? We look forward to hearing from you.
National Center for PTSDThe mission of the National Center for PTSD is to advance the clinical care and social welfare of America's Veterans and others who have experienced trauma, or who suffer from PTSD, through research, education, and training in the science, diagnosis, and treatment of PTSD and stress-related disorders.
AGRICOLA: Agricultural Online AccessThe National Agricultural Library "houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and related sciences." You can search for books or articles, which you can then purchase through publisher's websites.
AGRISThe International System for Agricultural Science and Technology is a great tool for researchers in the field of agriculture. Although it primarily provides bibliographic information, it does provide links to data sources wherever possible, many of which are open access.
Analytical Sciences Digital LibraryThe Analytical Sciences Digital Library is an incredible resource. It "collects, catalogs, links and publishes peer-reviewed, web-based discovery materials pertinent to innovations in curricular development and supporting technical resources in the analytical sciences."
Astrophysics Data SystemThe Astrophysics Data System is run by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory under a NASA grant. It offers three bibliographic databases with a total of more than 12.5 million records.
Federation of American Scientists (FAS)Federation of American Scientists (FAS) addresses a broad spectrum of issues in carrying out its mission to promote humanitarian uses of science and technology. Works on commercial computers, not NIPR.
National Agricultural LibraryRun by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the National Agricultural Library is an incredible tool for research, allowing you to search by subject and view articles on the publisher's website.
Public Library of SciencePLOS is a non-profit organization committed to facilitating openness in academic research. According to the site, "all PLOS content is at the highest possible level of open access, meaning that scientific articles are immediately and freely available to anyone, anywhere."
ScienceDirectOver 900,000 articles on ScienceDirect are open access
Articles published open access are peer-reviewed and made freely available for everyone to read, download and reuse in line with the user license displayed on the article.
Science.govScience.gov offers 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information. Some of the resources need to be purchased through other sites.
ScienceOpenScienceOpen is an incredible research and publishing network offering open access content from more than 24,000 journals.
SciTech ConnectThe research on SciTech Connect comes from the U.S. Department of Energy and includes research from the 1940s to today. Of this research, over 400,000 articles are available as full-text PDFs.
Business & Economics
EconBizAn excellent resource for economic and business studies. It offers the option of searching all free
access journals or only open access material.
EconStorEconStor offers more than 128,000 open access documents in the field of economics and allows you to search
by author, year, document type, or collection.
EDGAR SearchThe resource is called EDGAR, and it provides access to more than 21
million findings, including full texts of filings published in the past four years.
National Bureau of Economic ResearchThe National Bureau of Economic Research has compiled tons of research into an easy-to-use, searchable
website. The research is conducted by over 1,400 economics university professors.
Dining In (CGSC Pamphlet 28-1)This book is intended as a source document for officers planning a Dining-In or Dining-Out in their units. It provides a brief history of the British and American regimental messes, a detailed explanation of the standards and procedures for conducting a Dining-In, and a short sketch of service etiquette as it applies to formal dining. There are many other books and pamphlets on the customs and traditions of the Army and service etiquette available to reinforce the information contained in this booklet. The most important sources are in the bibliography at the back of this book.
Military Legal Resources (Library of Congress)The U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's Legal Center & School Library External Link in Charlottesville, VA, holds extensive collections of primary source materials and publications in the field of military law. Selections from these collections are now being made accessible in full text PDF versions via the Library of Congress Federal Research Division (FRD) Web site. As more materials are converted to digital formats, they will be added to this page.
National Resource DirectoryThe National Resource Directory is a searchable database of resources vetted for Service members, veterans, family members and caregivers.
Short History of the NCOThe following is a short history of the U.S. Army Noncommissioned Officer. This work is produced in hope that it will prove useful to the wide variety of NCOs in the field and to visitors of the U.S. Army Museum of the Noncommissioned Officer, who seek additional information on NCO history. The history is presented in a chronological manner and is based upon a variety of works listed at the end of the paper. Sources are noted throughout the paper in the folloing manner: (*von Steuben). It should be pointed out that two unpublished works in the museum's reference files were of great help; these works are the two Fisher Manuscripts noted in the Sources Consulted. Several oral histories and other works drawn from the museum's archives were used to give depth and provide the primary resources to the pamphlet.
Staff Ride OfferingsArmy University Press Staff Ride Team website that provides information on live and virtual staff rides as an educational tool for Soldiers.