Skip to main content

Reference Services: Start Your Research

.

Starting your research? The information on this page provides a starting point for using the ISCARL's electronic resources. Note that many of these are only available to ISCARL patrons who have a library card. Patrons use the 14-digit number on the back of their library cards to access some of these services. (To see what the prompt looks like on a webpage, view the attachment that is located at the bottom of this box.)

You can start by using the CARL Search Box (below), which allows you to search our library catalog, digital library, journals/articles, and Summon search (i.e., the Everything tab, which searches all of our resources in one place). To search one of these four resources, just click on the tab for that resource, enter your search topic, and click on the Search button. You can also use some of these resources through the other boxes provided in this guide.

CARL Search Box

Search Library Catalog by Keyword

 

Search ContentDM Digital Library

 
Search e-resources by title
Limit search to the following content types
:

All Books Journals Other

 

Search all online and print collections

 
Loading ...

CARL Digital Library

CARL Digital Library - Digital versions of paper documents and born digital documents from the Archives and Special Collections Library.

Journals

Journals - Access to all of CARL's full-text online journals. You can search by journal title or browse by title or subject. Use this method if you have a specific article you are looking for.

CARL Catalog

CARL Catalog - The library catalog contains records for all the physical items in the CARL collection (books, microfilm, DVDs, etc.) as well as links to e-books and the CARL Digital Library.

CARL Databases

CARL Databases - CARL has access to databases on a wide range of subjects, including military, international affairs, business, and history. Most have newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles, many of which are full-text. Others databases have country information, weapon systems data, or language instruction. Because of our licensing agreements, you will need your library card number to access our subscription databases from off-campus.

Summon (Everything)

Searches over 200 million items, to include CARL's catalog, most of CARL's databases, and the Digital Library. Resources include books, e-books, newspaper articles, scholarly articles, and online documents. Use this if uncertain what resource may have the information you are looking for. You can search, among other things, by title, author, or subject, and apply limits such as full text or scholarly only.

 

RefWorks

RefWorks - Web-based citation manager software. Set up your own research database with citations you export from our major databases, capture from a webpage, or enter manually. You can annotate and organize your citations, attach documents, and produce footnotes and bibliographies. This is a subscription service that requires a CARL account or PIN to use.