Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Library Services: Home

When you attend school remotely, there are many ways the Library can provide you with expert help and services. Always check the Library's homepage for the latest information about our hours and services.

Research Help

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? You can submit questions through our Ask a Librarian service to contact one of CARL's reference librarians. Messages will be answered within one business day. Please identify yourself as a distance learner to better assist you.

Librarian Consultations

If you need more in-depth assistance, please email us--currently the best method to make contact with a librarian--to make an appointment for a remote research consultation with a librarian.

You can also call 913-758-3053 during library's open hours to speak with a librarian.

Click on Start Your Research for more information.

 

Interlibrary Loan Service for Nonresidents

To borrow books or receive photocopied/digitized journal articles from CARL, contact your post or local library's interlibrary loan (ILL) service. It may find a closer library that has the item you need, allowing you to receive the item sooner.

Please check our catalog and databases to see if CARL already has the item you need before submitting a request. If necessary, a local librarian can find the item for you.

Eligible Material Types:

  • Regular circulating books owned by CARL
  • Copies of journal articles

Ineligible Material Types:

  • Required common core and course reserves books
  • Non-books 

Limits to Copies:

  • One article in a single journal issue
  • One chapter in a book
  • Staff discretion of more than 50 pages for a single item

Database Access for External Individuals

Because of licensing restrictions, some of CARL's online databases are only available from outside the library to users who (1) are CGSC students, faculty, or staff, (2) have a library account, or (3) have access to CGSC Blackboard.

If you are off campus, the 14-digit number on the back of your library card or the pin numbers in Blackboard will allow you access to our licensed databases. The prompt looks like the following:

Finding Books and Articles

CARL provides remote access to e-books, e-journals, and databases for current faculty, students, and staff through the following methods:

  • Searching our catalog. Used to find out what print, microform, audiovisual materials, and ebooks that CARL owns. Distant learners only have direct access to CARL’s online holdings and must go through a local library to request a loan of physical items.
  • Surfing the discover tool Summon. Searches CARL's databasesother digital resources, and  catalog. Since Summon searches over 300 million items, it is important to use search refinements to narrow results.
  • Choosing a Database: We have online databases of scholarly articles, and all of them are available off-campus. (See 'Database Access for External Individuals' box on this page.)
  • Browsing through the offerings of the two major vendors of ebooks--ProQuest (Ebook Central) and EBSCO--that CARL has access to.  
  • Viewing our Digital Library: The CARL Digital Library is a special collection largely composed of digital versions of documents within the CARL archives to include papers produced at CGSC (e.g., MMAS theses, SAMS monographs).  The CARL partnered with several Army educational and historical organizations whose collections appear in the digital library also.
  • Exploring a Subject Guide: Created by librarians, subject guides bring together major resources and information on a specific topics.

Remotely Accessing CARL's E-Books, E-Journals, and Databases

A 14-digit personal identification number (PIN) is required to remotely access CARL's e-books, e-journals, and databases. Below are the steps in locating a PIN:

 --Log into Blackboard

undefined

 

 

 

 

--Click on the Master Library and CGSC Resources tab (i.e., located in the top right-hand corner upon first logging in)

 

--Scroll down the subsequent webpage to locate the box labeled CARL: PINs for CGSS, found in the bottom right-hand corner. Inside the box are the two 14-digit PINs to choose from. (Note: the below displayed PINs are not the actual numbers.) 

 

Common Core Books / Books for Academic Writing and Reading

Common Core Books

The Cambridge History of Warfare, edited by Geoffrey Parker, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005. Only available in print. For H100.

Clausewitz, Carl von, On War, edited and translated by Michael Eliot Howard and Peter Paret, Princeton University Press, 1984. EBSCO Ebooks. For H100. 

The Dynamics of Military Revolution, 1300–2050, edited by MacGregor Knox and Williamson Murray, New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001. Only available in print. For H100.

House, CPT Jonathan, Toward Combined Arms Warfare: A Survey of 20th Century Tactics, Doctrine, and Organization, Fort Leavenworth, KS: Combat Studies Institute, 1984. Also available through the Combined Arms Research Library's Digital Library here. For H100, H200.

Makers of Modern Strategy from Machiavelli to the Nuclear Age, edited by Peter Paret, et al., Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1986. ProQuest Ebook Central. For H100 / H200 / H300 / H400.

Military Innovation in the Interwar Period, edited by Williamson R. Murray and Allan R. Millett, New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996. EBSCO Ebooks. For H200 / H400. 

Rethinking the Principles of War, edited by Anthony D. McIvor, Annapolis, MD: Naval Institute Press, 2005. ProQuest Ebook Central. For now it is mandatory reading for CGSS' Department of Military History (DMH).

Slim, Field-Marshal Viscount William, Defeat Into Victory: Battling Japan in Burma and India, 1942-1945, New York: Cooper Square Press, 2000. ProQuest Ebook Central.

_______________________________________________________

Academic Writing and Reading

Barnet, Sylvan.Bedau, Hugo Adam., eds. Critical Thinking, Reading, And Writing: A Brief Guide To Argument. Boston : Bedford/St. Martins, 2002.

Bell, Arthur H. (Arthur Henry), Ultimate Speed Reading. Barrons Educational Series, 2013.

Sabin, William A, The Gregg Reference Manual: A Manual of Style, Grammar, Usage, and Formatting. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2011.

Strunk, William, 1869-1946 and E. B. 1899-1985. White, The Elements of Style. New York: Longman, 2000.

Turabian, Kate L and Bonnie Birtwistle. Honigsblum, A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2018.


All books are available for purchase from major book sellers.

CARL Home Page