Home: CGSC and Fort Leavenworth History: Home

Brief history of Fort Leavenworth. A compilation of ten essays that narrate the history of the fort and illuminates the important contributions made to this country by its peoples, events, and institutions. Each essay was written by a member of the Combat Studies Institute, the history department of the Command and General Staff College.
Command and General Staff College Annual Reports: 1882-1936. As part of its ongoing preservation efforts, the Library has digitized the annual reports of the School for Infantry and Cavalry (now the Command and General Staff College) from 1882-1936. These reports were written almost every year as a summary of the activities of the college. They include the names of students, instructors and other faculty, as well as discussing the growing pains of the new school. These files are free to the public, but any republication should acknowledge the Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library.

"Command School: It trains general staffs for attack" Life magazine article, August 17, 1942. TIME 1961 (PDF) Reproduction is strictly prohibited without permission. Send all requests to Time Inc.
Commandants of CGSC Roster of Commandants of the Command and General Staff College.
Deputy Commandants of CGSC Roster of Deputy Commandants of the Command and General Staff College.
Sergeants Major of CGSC. Roster of Command and General Staff College Command Sergeants Major.

Compendium of laws covering interests upon the Fort Leavenworth military reservation together with history of its institutions and other information for the benefit of officers, soldiers and civilian employees. A history of legislation specific to Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. This history begins with the establishment of Fort Leavenworth in 1827 and continues to the late 19th century.
Fort Leavenworth: its churches and schools. A history of Fort Leavenworth Kansas and the churches and schools on this U.S. Army reservation. The history encompasses Christian churches on the Army reservation in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Fort Leavenworth Collection The CARL's Fort Leavenworth collection in the digital library.

General Service and Staff College: Historical Sketch.
"A Graduate School of War" A Harper's Monthly Magazine article by Robert Welles Ritchie. Volume CXXXII, December 1915 to May 1916. New York and London, Harper & Brothers Publishers, 1916.

History of Fort Leavenworth, 1827-1937. A reprint of the second edition ( of History of Fort Leavenworth) brought up to date by Walter E. Lorence. The original covered the first 110 years of Fort Leavenworth's history and provided a chronology of events that covered the Westward movement, the Fort's role in the Civil War, and the establishment of the Command and General Staff School.
History of Fort Leavenworth, 1937 - 1951. This publication brings up to date the original history published by Colonel Elvid Hunt in 1927 and revised by Captain Walter E. Lorence in 1937. It contains a chronology of events from 1937 - 1951.

Infantry and Cavalry School Lectures: 1898-1910. As part of its ongoing preservation efforts, the Combined Arms Research Library has digitized lectures given at the School for Infantry and Cavalry (now the Command and General Staff College) from 1898-1910. The lectures are interesting statements of Army doctrine in the time frame before World War I. Some of the lectures were given by young Captains and Majors who later became better known, including Douglas MacArthur and William "Billy" Mitchell. They are listed below by topic. These files are free to the public, but republication should acknowledge the Combined Arms Research Library. The link to all of the lectures is http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/search/collection/p4013coll4/searchterm/I nfantry%20and%20Cavalry%20School%20Lectures/field/ser/mode/exact/
"The Leavenworth School" Article for Harper's New Monthly Magazine by Charles King; Volume 76, issue, April 6,1888.

Early Leavenworth and Fort Leavenworth: a photographic history. by J.H. Johnston
Call Number: 978.138 J72e (CARL Special Collections 3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 1977
Sentinel of the Plains : Fort Leavenworth and the American West by George H. Walton
Call Number: 978.138 W239s
Publication Date: 1973
The U.S. Army Command and General Staff College: A Centennial History. by Boyd L. Dastrup
Call Number: 355.500711 D231u
Publication Date: 1982

Combined Arms and Fort Leavenworth Archives (CAFLA) Collection- Official records of the operations and activities of Fort Leavenworth. Includes annual histories written by the Combined Arms Center (CAC) historians.

Command and General Staff College Curriculum - Collection includes instructional material , college catalogs, scheduels, rosters, handbooks, issue material, maps, charts, guest speaker recordings and much more.

Leavenworth City Directories 1859-1979- Microfilm collection

Leavenworth Times newspapers - Microfilm collection- "Times and conservative", and "Daily Leavenworth Times"- 1859-

Maps, Charts, and Architectural Drawings- Fort Leavenworth and its buildings

Phonebooks of Fort Leavenworth 1909-