Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: General Information

The Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library Special Collections and Archives exists to preserve and make available to researchers Command and General Staff College, Fort Leavenworth and other historical materials.

The archives area is open from 9:00 - 4:00, Monday - Friday.

Due to the restricted area in which Archives is located, all visiting scholars and researchers must make an appointment to use the archival and special collections and to insure maximum assistance with their research.

To make an appointment please call (913) 758-3161 or write to:

ATTN: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
IKE SKELTON COMBINED ARMS RESEARCH LIBRARY
US ARMY COMMAND AND GENERAL STAFF COLLEGE
250 GIBBONS AVENUE
FORT LEAVENWORTH, KS 66027-7800

Email: askcarl@carlcgsc.libanswers.com

Policies

Patrons should be aware the Archives is a closed stack and in a restricted area. Browsing in the stacks is not permitted, and all of our materials are non-circulating.

International officers assigned to Fort Leavenworth please consult with the 1st floor reference staff for use of any of the archival or special collections materials.

Foreign visitors must contact their embassy in Washington, DC to submit the Request for Visit Authorization to HQDA G2. Visit requests must be submitted 30 days prior to the date of visit.

New Digital Library Additions

Journal of Military Learning Logo

Journal of Military Learning

Through the JML, Army University offers a peer-reviewed publication focused on adult learning to disseminate knowledge that informs practice in both civilian and military professional education and training.

Torch Operation Cover

Torch Operation

After action report which contains the 3rd Infantry Division Field Orders No. 1 to No. 22 for Operation Torch. Includes annexes, special instructions, maps and information pamphlets.

Nafziger collection thumbnail

German army authorized strength Jager company, 1 December 1943

The Nafziger Collection contains a compilation of orders of battle from 1600 to 1945 with over 7000 individual pdf files. It began with the author's interest in Napoleonic Wars, and steadily grew to other areas because of the gaming public's interest in these highly detailed historical orders of battle. Sources range from published works to actual archival documents, which represent the largest single source. Nearly all orders of battle break down to the regimental level. The availability of strength figures and artillery equipment varies from period to period. This collection was provided through the generous donation of George Nafziger to the Combined Arms Research Library.