The CARL Search box above can be used to find materials on the Vietnam War in the CARL collections. With the Catalog tab selected, type Vietnam in the box and click on the Submit button. This will take you to the Army University Library System (AULS) screen.
To narrow your topic, try an Advanced Search as seen in the screenshot below.
Looking for case studies related to the Vietnam War? Try an Advanced Search as described above using the keyword Vietnam (in the first search box) and the keywords case studies (in the second search box). See the pdf file below for a sample list of search results.
Find journal articles on the topic of the Vietnam War by using databases to which the CARL subscribes. The same process of using Advanced Search (described above), joining keywords using AND (for example: Vietnam AND Tet), works to find relevant journal articles.
Suggested databases:
JSTOR in the CARL A-Z Databases
TIP: In Advanced Search, narrow by Item Type: Articles, Books, Reports.
EBSCO Databases in the CARL A-Z Databases
TIP: In Advanced Search, limit to Full Text and Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals
ProQuest Databases in the CARL A-Z Databases
The CARL Digital Library is made up of twenty-five collections which include photographs, maps, and documents.
The CARL Search box (top left on this page) can be used to search the Digital Library by selecting the Digital Library tab. Type Vietnam into the search box and click on the Submit button.
Use the check boxes on the left to filter the results. For example, you could limit your results to student papers, SAMS monographs, and MMAS theses as shown in the image below.
A sample student master's thesis is listed below (see the pdf file). Reading the work of other researchers of the Vietnam War can be helpful. Remember to peruse the table of contents and bibliography.
TIP: Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) contains a wealth of military documents, including monographs, theses, and student papers from CGSC and other schools like the Naval Postgraduate School, Air University, and the Army War College.
You could also use the search filters in the Digital Library to select all of the collections except for the student papers, theses, and monographs. See these search results using the keyword Vietnam.
The 3rd floor of CARL houses the Government Documents, Special Collections, and Archives. Generally, the items on the 3rd floor may not be checked out and must be viewed on the 3rd floor. See the Archives page for more information.
The 3rd floor collections contain materials related to the Vietnam War. The CARL catalog was used to generate a list of materials which includes after action reports, operational manuals/guides, military reports, and battle descriptions. See the pdf document file for the sample list of search results. View the image to see how the search was conducted in the catalog.