The Adams Papers [D000875 1955]
A collection of the papers of John Adams (1735-1826), John Quincy Adams (1767-1848), Charles Francis Adams (1807-1886), and their wives and children. Parts I and II contain the diaries and letter books of the three Adams men. Parts III and IV include miscellaneous items, papers of John Adams, John Q. Adams, Louisa C. Adams, Thomas Boylston Adams, George Washington Adams, Charles Francis Adams, and non-Adams miscellany, letters received and other loose papers. No subject or personal name indices have been published. [179 reels]
Administrative Histories of World War II Civilian Agencies of the Federal Government, and Administrative Histories of U. S. Civilian Agencies: Korean War. [D000812 1979]
A collection of 423 histories, most long out of print, which provide insight into the development of agencies devoted to the regulation of the country at war. These agencies dealt with alien property and war assets, censorship, civilian defense, community war services, defense related education, scientific research and public health during wartime. The paper index is by subject, title, and name of issuing agency, with some personal names as added entries. [68 reels (56, WWII; 12, Korea)]
Afghanistan: the Making of U.S. Policy, 1973-1990. [E002792 1990]
This collection of 2,326 documents provides a contemporary record of U.S. policy and reactions to the Soviet invasion, occupation, and withdrawal of Afghanistan. It includes cable traffic and situation reports sent between the State Department and diplomatic posts in Kabul, Islamabad and Peshawar, and reports and memos from DIA, CIA, USCENTCOM, USAID and USIA. The detailed guide and index includes subject and name indices, a frame by frame catalog, a chronology, a bibliography and glossaries of names, military terms, and organizations. [microfiche]
After Action Report (Third U.S. Army) 1 August 1944-9 May 1945. [D000715 1945]
Reports are chronological by month and include planning and operational phases. [3 reels]
American Foreign Policy: Current Documents: 1981 Supplement. [E002522 1981]
Microfiche supplement to American Foreign Policy @327.73U566ac. This collection presents goals and objectives of U.S. foreign policy as set forth in official addresses, statements, interviews, press conferences and communications by the White House, Department of State and others involved in foreign policy. The fiche collection presents documents, that for reasons of space, could not be included in the book edition. The collection consists of 1,077 documents totaling approximately 13,000 pages. This is not a stand alone collection as cross references and foot notes refer to the printed volume.
The American Revolution [E002739]
Collection of Revolutionary period journals, orderly books and correspondence of notable figures, including John and Abigail Adams. Paper index lists items alphabetically by author. [1,734 microfiche]
American State Papers. [D000962]
Legislative and executive documents of the United States Congress. (1789-1883). Each set of documents contains an alphabetical index by subjects which includes dates and references to page numbers.
|
Foreign relations |
6 volumes |
|
Finance |
5 volumes |
|
Commerce and navigation |
2 volumes |
|
Indian affairs |
2 volumes |
|
Miscellaneous |
2 volumes |
|
Military affairs |
7 volumes |
|
Post office |
1 volume |
|
Naval affairs |
4 volumes |
|
Claims |
1 volume |
|
Public lands |
8 volumes |
[19 reels] N.B. hard copy of American State Papers (38 volumes) located in Special Collections @328.734 U56a
Annual Reports of Fleets and Task Forces of the United States Navy, 1920-1941. M971 [D001017 1920-1941]
Each U.S. fleet commander in chief transmitted to the Secretary of the Navy an annual report covering all subjects necessary for a complete military review of his command and its operations during the preceding fiscal year. Annual reports were narrative in form and covered such subjects as the commander in chief's movements during the fiscal year, the employment schedule of the fleet, the organization of the fleet, and the fleet's performance and needs in such areas as gunnery, engineering, training, communications, supply, health and sanitation, and personnel. These annual reports, with accompanying enclosures, were submitted by commanding officers of the Atlantic Fleet (1920-22 and 1941), Pacific Fleet (1920-23 and 1941), U.S. Fleet (1923-40), Asiatic Fleet (1920- 1941), Naval Forces, Europe (July 1922 - June 1929), Special Service Squadron (July 1921-June 1940), and Squadron 40-T (Oct. 1936-Oct.1939)[15 reels]
Annual Reports of the War Department, 1822-1907. [D001003 1983]
Annual Reports comprised of Records of the Adjutants General's Office (RG 94) and Publications of the U.S. Government (RG 287) and include Reports from the War Department as well as supplementary reports from subordinate bureaus and offices. (164 reels of microfilm). Reel one contains the entire table of contents, reels 2-4 contain the index to the engineers and ordnance reports. [N.B. Hard copy of many of these reports are available in Special Collections]
Appointment Book of President Kennedy 1961-1963. [D000554 1981]
Microfilm collection of the daily schedule of John F. Kennedy while he was in office from 1961-1963. Provides time and duration of each meeting, including details on location, participates, and topics under discussion for each entry. Covers meetings in the White House and outside (U.S. and abroad). All films are indexed by date only. [3 reels]
Army Ground Forces (AGF) Reports (Part 1) [D001086]
These records, part of the CARL Historical Documents Collection, were reproduced on 35mm roll film by the National Archives & Records Administration, Central Plains Region in 1999. These documents were filmed in ascending numeric order according to their document number. The source print documents are in the custody of CARL. See Descriptive pamphlet in Reference for additional information. [8 reels]
The Belgian Underground Press in World War II (La Presse Clandestine de Belgique). [E002710 1989]
This collection, in French, is indexed by organization, geographic region, movement and group. [560 fiche]
The Berlin Crisis, 1958-1962. [E002791 1991]
This collection of over 2900 documents provides a record of U.S. Policy during the most prolonged crisis of the Cold War. It includes records from the Eisenhower and Kennedy White Houses, the State Department, CIA, DoD (especially the JCS and European Command) and from British, French and West German sources. The detailed two volume guide and index includes subject and name indices, a frame by frame catalog, a chronology, a bibliography and glossaries of names, military terms, and organizations.[microfiche]
British Public Record Office, Colonial Office, Class 5 Files. [D000833 1983]
Both collections contain military correspondence, Secretary of State Dispatches, legal materials reports, etc.
Part 3 The French and Indian Wars [Reels 19-26]
Part 5 The American Revolution, 1772-1784 [Reels 39-53]
Cablegrams Exchanged Between General Headquarters, American Expeditionary Forces, and the War Department, 1917-1919. [D000889 1973]
This collection contains all cablegrams exchanged between the two headquarters except the series listing names of casualties. The nine series are: From GHQ, AEF to the War Department - Main series; Confidential Cablegrams; Weekly, Semi-Weekly, and Daily Summaries; Summaries of Activities, U.S. Troops; American Official Communiqu‚s; Courier Cablegrams; and from the War Department to GHQ, AEF -Main Series; Confidential and Courier Cablegrams. They cover personnel, supply, U.S. and Allied Operations, assignments of units, inventories, health issues, and forwarding of Communications from the field to GHQ to the War Department. The series are arranged and numbered in chronological order; see the printed guide for further information. [19 Reels]
Cavalry Tactics, US Army, Assimilated to the Tactics of Infantry and Artillery. RG94, T1109 [D000902 1968]
Reproduction of book published by D.Appleton and Company, New York, in 1874. The book, a revision of Upton's Infantry Tactics, and Tactics for Artillery and Cavalry, was authorized by General Orders, No.6 July 17th 1873. The book includes instruction for Soldiers dismounted and Company dismounted; saber exercises; carbine and pistol practice; instructions for skirmishes; care and maintenance of horse and equipment, and music scores for trumpet signals. The table of contents is located in the back of the book. 530 pages. [1 reel]
CIA Reference Aid Collection. Collection consists of: list of Chiefs of State and cabinet members of foreign governments September 1966- January 1979; Consolidated translation survey January 1964- February 1971.
CIA Research Reports.
Africa, 1946-1976. [D000578 1983] Arranged alphabetically by country, with a subject index. [3 reels]
China, 1946-1976 [D000584 1982] Reels 1-5: China. Reel 6: China, India and Pakistan. Subject index. [6 reels]
Europe, 1946-1976. [D000590 1982] Reel 1: General overview. Others alphabetical by country. Subject index. [4 reels]
Japan, Korea and the Security of Asia, 1946-1976 [D000585 1983] Arranged by region and sub-divided by year. Subject index. [5 reels]
Latin America 1946-1976. [D000744 1982] Alphabetical by country with a subject index. [5 reels]
Middle East 1946-1976. [D000577 1982] Reel 1: General overview. Others alphabetical by country. Subject index. [3 reels]
Soviet Union, 1946-1976. [D000577 1982] Arranged chronologically. Subject index. [5 reels]
Vietnam and Southeast Asia Supplement, 1946-1976. [D000583 1982] Good coverage of the Indochina War & early U.S. involvement in Vietnam. Subject index. [6 reels]
Civil War Correspondence, Diaries & Journals at the Massachusetts Historical Society. [D000824 1986]
Contains over 30,000 pages of correspondence by 29 Massachusetts Soldiers (mostly enlisted infantry). Arranged by "collection" of an individual with a separate unit index prepared by the historical society.[29 reels] Civil War Unit Histories. Includes regimental histories and personnel narratives, organized by region then by state. The paper guides have author and major engagement indices. This series is still being filmed; additional fiche and indices will be included as they are completed.
Part 1 - CSA and Border States [E002757 1990]
Part 2 - The Union -- New England [E002782 1991]
Part 3 - The Union-Mid-Atlantic [E002782 1993]
Col. Charles L. Deckers Collection of Records Relating to Military Justice and the Revision of Military Law, 1948-1956. [D001067 1992]
Collection of records assembled entirely or in part by Col. Decker, JAG, relating to the preparation of the Manual for Courts-Martial, U.S Army, 1949 and 1951 versions, and the framing and enactment of the Uniform Code of Military Justice, 1948 – 1950; the study and review of the workings of the Code and the 1951 Manual by the staff and students of the Judge Advocate General’s School, 1951-56; and other matters relating to Col. Decker’s military career. The collection is divided into six parts and is filmed in the following order: 1- Records relating to the preparation of The Manual for Courts-Martial, 1949, 1948-1949. 2- Records relating to the drafting and enactment of the Uniform Code of Military Justice, 1948-1950. 3- Records relating to the preparation for The Manual for Courts-Martial, 1951, 1950-1951. 4- Records of the Judge Advocate General’s School relating to the study and review of the UCMJ and The Manual for Courts-Martial, 1951, 1951-1956. 5- Records relating to Col. Decker, 1948-1963. 6- Other records. See Descriptive pamphlet in reference for additional information. [32 reels]
Collection of Hungarian Political and Military Records, 1909-1945. RG 242, T973 [D001016 1909-1945]
These records were in the custody of the Szalasi regime when they were captured by American forces in South Germany in 1945. The Hungarian political records pertain to the Hungarian Nazi Party and dealt with the Party's affairs and its relations with the earlier Hungarian Government. The Military records consist of correspondence, orders, circulars, minutes of meetings, names of Army officers for World War II and earlier. The records are arranged by: Government and Party Records; Military Records; Maps; Diagrams; Tables, and Charts; Books; Newspapers; Pamphlets; Brochures, and Leaflets; Miscellaneous Records; and Personal Name Files. [21 reels]
Compiled Service Records of American Naval Personnel and Members of the Departments of the Quartermaster General and the Commissary General of Military Stores who Served During the Revolutionary War. [D001075 1972]
The service records reproduced within consist of a jacket-envelope for each Soldier, Sailor, or civilian, labeled with his name, his rank or profession, and the unit or special corps he served. The jacket-envelope contains card abstracts of entries relating to the Soldier, Sailor or civilian as found in original muster rolls, receipts for pay, assignments of pay and lists of men and supplies. See Descriptive pamphlet in reference for additional information. [4 reels]
Compiled Service Records of Volunteer Soldiers who Served from 1784 - 1811 [D001065 1972]
Records consist of a jacket-envelope for each Soldier, which contains card abstracts of entries relating to the Soldier as found in original muster rolls, payrolls, receipt rolls, returns, and lists. See Descriptive Pamphlet in reference for additional information.
Compiled Service Records of Volunteer Union Soldiers who Served in Organizations from the Territory of Nebraska [D001070 1995]
Records consist of jacket-envelope for each Soldier, labeled with his name, rank, and unit. Typical jacket contains entries relating to the Soldier found in original muster and hospital rolls, descriptive books, list of deserters, returns, and notational cards. See the Descriptive Pamphlet in reference for additional information. [46 reels]
Compiled Service Records of the Confederate Soldiers who Served in Organizations from the State of Tennessee. [D001006 1959]
Library holds Nixon's Forty-eighth Infantry (reels 312-314) and Voorheis' Forty-eighth Infantry (reels 315-316). (5 reels)
Confederate Imprints. [D000785 1974]
Contains full text 90% of the titles listed by Marjorie Crandall and Richard Harwell in their respective bibliographies of Confederate imprints. They are arranged according to their "Crandall-Harwell" numbers. Reel 1 reproduces both Crandall and Harwell's works, giving the full bibliographic citations. [144 reels]
Confidential and Unofficial Letters Sent by the Secretary of War, 1814-1847. [D000779]
Contains two volumes of about 350 letters in roughly chronological order sent by Secretaries of War Monroe, Dallas, Calhoun, Cass, Poinsett, Bell, and Marcy during the War of 1812, Mexican War, and the difficulties with Spain in the Floridas and Great Britain along the northern frontier. Content ranges from national and international issues to inter- and intra agency matters. Each volume has a name and subject index. Vol. One's index is incomplete; letters copied between pages 131-160 are not included. Pages 145-167 of Vol. Two were removed and have never been located. [2 reels]
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. These files are arranged chronologically within broad subject areas including: Political Affairs, Government, Judicial Matters, Public Order, Public Health, Military Affairs, Social Matters, History, Education, Economic Matters, Financial Conditions, Industrial Matters, Agriculture, Communications & Transportation, and Public Press. The printed guides show all the broad subject areas and have a more detailed subject index in the back.
Due to increased coverage of Indochina during the French Crisis this section has a more detailed subject organization. See the printed guide.
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records. Files are arranged chronologically, then by the following subject areas: Congresses & Conferences, Commerce & Commercial Relations, Relations of State, Internal Affairs of State, Confidential Files. The paper Guide also has a general subject index.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. These files are arranged chronologically within broad subject areas including: Political Affairs, Government, Judicial Matters, Public Order, Public Health, Military Affairs, Social Matters, History, Education, Economic Matters, Financial Conditions, Industrial Matters, Agriculture, Communications & Transportation, and Public Press. The printed guides show all the broad subject areas and have a more detailed subject index in the back.
Due to increased coverage of Indochina during the French Crisis this section has a more detailed subject organization. See the printed guide.
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records. Files are arranged chronologically, then by the following subject areas: Congresses & Conferences, Commerce & Commercial Relations, Relations of State, Internal Affairs of State, Confidential Files. The paper Guide also has a general subject index.
Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military conditions in Central America, 1918-1941. [D000796 1987]
Reports from the U.S. Military Attaches, and their assistants, assigned to foreign embassies. The major functions of the military attaché were to observe and report on the organization, training, equipment, doctrine, and operations of foreign military forces. The attaché also reported on political, economic and social conditions in the country. In addition to military attaché reports, these microfilms include documents created by U.S. Government agencies and foreign governments. See the Descriptive Pamphlet in Ref. for additional information. [12 reels]
Correspondence of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in China, 1918-1941. [D000799 1987]
See the description under Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941 [19 reels]
Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Italy, 1918-1941. [D000882 1986]
See the description under Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941 [6 reels]
Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Japan, 1918-1941. [D001035 1918-1941]
See the description under Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941 [31 reels]
Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Poland and the Baltic States, 1918-1941. [D000795 1989]
See the description under Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941 [10 reels, CARL has reels 1,6-10]
Correspondence of the Military Intelligence Division, Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Russia and the Soviet Union, 1918-1941. [D000743 1986]
See the description under Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941 [23 reels, CARL has reels 2,11-23]
Correspondence of the Military Intelligence Division, Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Scandinavian and Finland, 1918-1941. [D000797 1988]
See the description under Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941 [12 reels, CARL has reels 1,5-12]
Correspondence of the Military Intelligence Division, Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Spain, 1918-1941. [D000797 1988]
See the description under Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, Economic and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941 [12 reels]
Correspondence of the Military Intelligence Division relating to "Negro Subversion," 1917-1941. [D000894 1986]
Reproduces record cards and correspondence of MID relating to activities of Blacks in civilian and military life. Records consist of War Department memos, investigative reports and correspondence with the Justice Department and the Bureau of Investigation. Most of the documents cover three subjects: radical organizations and activities in the Black community that had a potential impact on the military; discrimination against Blacks, military and civilian, including incidents leading to race riots; and treatment of and performance by Blacks in the Army. Records on the first subject cover WWI and the entire interwar period; coverage of the 2d and 3rd topics is limited to the war and immediate post war period. Reel 1 has an introductory essay with background information , an explanation of the record card system, and a list of the Black newspapers included in the files.
Correspondence ("Top Secret") of the Manhattan Engineer District, 1942-1946. [D000971 1982]
Correspondence maintained by Maj. Gen. Leslie Groves as Commanding general of the Manhattan Engineer District, September 1942 to December 1946. The major portion of the collection consists of letters, reports and memorandums. Also included are: messages, telegrams, cables, directives, notes, drafts, minutes and meeting agenda, transcripts of telephone conversations, histories, studies, speeches and press releases. [5 reels]
Cryptology Studies.[D000572 1979]
Collection of papers and articles from the files of the National Security Agency. Included are such classics as "War Secrets in the Ether" as well as a number of rare studies on the development, history and application of Ciphers and Codes. No index is available. [14 reels]
Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962. [E002754 1990]
This collection presents a comprehensive record of U.S. decision making during the most dangerous U.S.-Soviet confrontation of the nuclear era. Its 3400 documents focus on the "Thirteen Days" from October 16-28, 1962. Includes White House, National Security Council, State, CIA, DoD and Congressional documents, many of which were classified. The detailed 2-volume index has subject and name indices, a frame by frame catalog, a chronology, a bibliography and glossaries of: names, military terms, and organizations. [586 fiche]