Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Plan a Visit

Location and Parking

The Archives and Special Collections is located on the third floor of the Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library (ISCARL).

There are several free parking lots located around the library. 

Security Policies

Archives and Special Collections' materials are stored in a secured area. Researchers may not bring any electronic devices (laptop, cell phone, smartwatch) into this area. Lockable drawers are available for patrons to store small electronic devices. 

Backpacks and other large bags cannot be taken into the research area and must be stored outside or just inside the door.

All visitors without the necessary security clearance will be escorted by a staff member at all times while in the secure area.

Arrangements can be made if a patron wishes to use a personal electronic device to take notes or photograph materials. Please confirm with a staff member when making an appointment.

Fort Leavenworth Visitor Information

For more information on how to enter the Fort Leavenworth campus, please visit: https://home.army.mil/leavenworth/index.php/about/visitor-information

Usage Guidelines

  • Use of ink is prohibited; please take notes in pencil.
  • Materials may not leave the area.
  • Materials must remain flat on the table and be handled carefully during use.
  • All records must be kept in their present arrangement.
  • Do not make any alterations to the documents.
  • Nothing may be placed on the materials being used.
  • Do not write on top of materials.
  • No food or drink is allowed when viewing documents.
  • Do not remove staples, paper clips or other fasteners.

Copyright and Duplication Policies

  • Most photocopying is done by archival staff only and completed as other staff duties allow. The maximum pages photocopied per item is 20.
  • The Archives is able to scan and digitize materials. Photocopying, scanning and photo duplication decisions will be made on a case-by-case basis.
  • Reproductions are made solely for the personal use of the individual requesting them. Permission of the ISCARL Special Collections and Archives must be obtained for any other use.
  • Certain materials may not be copied due to physical condition, restrictions imposed by the donor, copyright law, or right-to-privacy statutes.
  • Patrons are responsible for observing all United States and international copyright regulations.
  • Reproduction does not transfer either copyright or property rights, nor does it constitute permission to publish or to display materials.
  • Please consult a staff member for more information.

Facilities and Equipment

The Archives and Special Collections has a photocopier, flatbed scanner, overhead scanner, and microfilm reader. Additional microfilm readers are located on the first floor.

There are three study rooms for archival researchers to use on the third floor.

Wireless internet access is available throughout the public areas of the library.