It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining all the issues related to your topic.
Look for keywords when reading background information or encyclopedia articles on your topic. Keep track of these words so you can use them when searching for books and articles.
TIP - Keywords are the main terms that describe your research question or topic.
Encyclopedia of the Hundred Years War by John A. WagnerProvides clear, concise, and basic descriptions and definitions to over 260 key people, events, and terms relating to the series of conflicts between France and England in the 14th and 15th centuries that later came to be known as the Hundred Years War. The Encyclopedia of the Hundred Years War provides its users with clear, concise, and basic descriptions and definitions of people, events, and terms relating in some significant way to the series of intermittent conflicts that occurred between France and England in the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, and that later came to be known collectively as the Hundred Years War. Because this volume focuses exclusively on war itself-what caused it, how it was fought, and what effects it had on the political, social, economic, and cultural life of England and France--it is not a general overview of fourteenth- and fifteenth-century history in either country, but a specialized treatment of the Anglo-French warfare that occurred during those centuries. Entries cover battles, leaders, truces and treaties, military terms and tactics, and sources for the war, including the plays of William Shakespeare, who has long been an important if not always reliable source for information about the people and events of the Hundred Years War. The Encyclopedia was written primarily for students and other nonspecialists who have an interest-but little background-in this period of European history. Besides providing a highly usable resource for quickly looking up names and terms encountered in reading or during study, the Encyclopedia offers an excellent starting point for classroom or personal research on subjects relating to the course, causes, and consequences of the Hundred Years War. All entries conclude with suggested further readings. A comprehensive bibliography completes the encyclopedia, which is fully indexed.
Call Number: 944.02503 W133e
Publication Date: 2006-08-30
The American Revolution 1775-1783 by Richard L. Blanco (Editor)Launching a new series of encyclopedias entitled The Wars of the United States, this panoramic reference comprises some 700 detailed mini-essays on battles, campaigns, skirmishes, raids, massacres, and sea fights, along with approximately 400 biographical sketches of the leading American, British,
Call Number: 973.303 A512
Publication Date: 1993-03-01
American Revolution by Spencer Tucker; James R. Arnold; Roberta Wiener; Paul G. Pierpaoli; Paul David Nelson; Jim PiecuchWith more than 1,300 cross-referenced entries covering every aspect of the American Revolution, this definitive scholarly reference covers the causes, course, and consequences of the war and the political, social, and military origins of the nation. * Contains more than 1,300 A-Z entries on various political, social, and military topics connected with the American Revolution * Features contributions from more than 120 distinguished scholars and independent historians from a variety of disciplines * Introduces entries with essays on the war's underlying causes and the events that catalyzed its outbreak, a synopsis of the war, and an analysis of its long-term impact * Includes key documents relevant to the period, including Common Sense, the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, eyewitness battle accounts, speeches, and treaties * Supplements entries with hundreds of illustrations depicting colonial and Revolutionary America, plus dozens of maps depicting major geopolitical relationships, large-scale military operations, and individual battles on land and sea * Addresses all major Native American tribes involved in the conflict and their role in the war
Call Number: 973.303 A512 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
The Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890 by Inc ABC-CLIO Inc. StaffThis encyclopedia provides a broad, in-depth, and multidisciplinary look at the causes and effects of warfare between whites and Native Americans, encompassing nearly three centuries of history. * Entries written by over 50 leading scholars in the field * 25 charts * 26 maps * A glossary of terms
Call Number: 970.00497003 E56 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-19
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by David S. Heidler (Editor); Jeanne T. Heidler (Editor); David J. Coles (Editor); Gary W. Gallagher (Editor); James M. McPherson; Mark E. Neeley (Editor)An award-winning and highly recommended comprehensive reference set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War. * Over 1,600 signed A-Z entries, authored by notable scholars and referenced for further reading * Over 300 contributors, including some of the leading Civil War scholars at work today * More than 500 illustrations, including contemporary photographs, lithographs, and drawings * 75 maps created specifically for this encyclopedia * A chronology, glossary, and exhaustive index * Over 250 primary source documents
Call Number: REF 973.703 E56
Publication Date: 2000-12-13
American Civil War by Spencer C. Tucker; Paul G. PierpaoliThis two-volume encyclopedia offers a unique insight into the Civil War from a state and local perspective, showing how the American experience of the conflict varied significantly based on location. * Presents coverage of all U.S. states and territories from 1861 to 1865 and addresses important cities, towns, military posts, and manufacturing centers * Enables readers to understand the tremendous influence of the Civil War on civilians as well as on military personnel directly involved with the conflict * Explains the critical roles played by manufacturing and agriculture in the events and outcome of the Civil War
Call Number: 973.7 A5123 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-24
Encyclopedia of the Spanish-American and Philippine-American Wars by Jerry KeenanAn A-Z encyclopedia covering the principal battles and campaigns, key military and political figures, and the political maneuvering during the Spanish-American and Philippine-American Wars. * Analyzes all of the campaigns and principal battles of the Spanish-American and Philippine-American wars, along with their political and historical context * Profiles key military and political figures in the United States, Cuba, Spain, and the Philippines * Charts the chronological development of the confrontations from 1868 to 1903 * Generously illustrates the discussion with maps, tactical diagrams, and archival photos
Call Number: 973.8903 K26e 2001
Publication Date: 2001-12-05
Philippine-American Military History, 1902-1942 by Richard B. MeixselMilitary obligations rested lightly upon the Filipino people for much of the period that America occupied the Philippines, but Filipinos could enlist in the United States Army and Navy, attend the service academies at West Point and Annapolis, or join military organizations restricted to duty in the islands such as the Philippine Scouts, Philippine Constabulary, Philippine National Guard, and the navy's insular force. In the 1930s, the Philippine government established its own armed forces. Throughout much of this time, the U.S. army also kept a substantial portion of its troop strength in the Philippines. This annotated bibliography of nearly 700 titles highlights the extent and variety of the Philippine-American military experience from the conquest of the islands by the United States in 1902 to the defeat of Philippine and American forces by the Japanese in 1942. The bibliography includes memoirs and biographies of Filipino and American officers and enlisted men (from MacArthur to Ferdinand Marcos), unit histories, army post and navy base histories, medals and insignia books, and the most extensive list of prisoner-of-war memoirs yet published. Annotations address controversies such as the widely disparate estimates of American deaths on the Bataan Death March and include previously unpublished information, such as casualty figures for American and Philippine forces in 1941-1942.
Call Number: REF 016.3550330599 M515p
Publication Date: 2002-12-16
World War II by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)With more than 1,700 cross-referenced entries covering every aspect of World War II, the events and developments of the era, and myriad related subjects as well as a documents volume, this is the most comprehensive reference work available on the war. * Provides a clear understanding of the causes of World War II, reaching back to World War I and the role of the Western democracies in its origin * Examines home front developments in major countries during the war, such as race and gender relations in the United States * Recognizes the important roles played by women in the war and describes how the United States mobilized its economy and citizenry for total war * Discusses the Holocaust and establishes responsibility for this genocide * Details the changing attitudes toward the war as expressed in film and literature
Call Number: REF 940.5303 W927 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
The Pacific War Encyclopedia by James F. Dunnigan; Albert A. NofiProviding a reference on training for all those involved in the food supply chain, this volume shows staff training to be an essential prerequisite to food safety, and therefore crucial to the success of a food company. Food safety and quality management systems are only as good as the people who develop and implement them and the difference between successful and unsuccessful companies often relates to training and behaviour control.
Call Number: 940.5426 D924p
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
World War II at Sea by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)The war at sea was a key aspect of World War II, one that is too-often under-studied. This comprehensive encyclopedia shares current understandings of the struggle to control the seas during that conflict--and it opens our eyes to the reasons sea power continues to be of critical importance today. * More than 450 A-Z entries * A comprehensive chronology * Numerous illustrations of individuals, weapons, and battles * Maps * A glossary of naval terms * A comprehensive bibliography, plus cross-references and suggestions for further reading at the end of each entry
Call Number: 940.545 W927
Publication Date: 2011-11-10
Encyclopedia of the Second World War by Ian V. Hogg; Bryan Perrett
Call Number: 940.5303 P455e
Publication Date: 1989-10-01
The Encyclopedia of the Korean War by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); Paul G. Pierpaoli (Editor)A multidimensional, multidisciplinary work on one of the least understood but most important conflicts in modern history. * 760 alphabetically organized entries covering all aspects of the Korean War era--military, political, economic, social, and cultural * Nearly 150 primary documents in a separate volume * More than 125 contributors, including both civilian professors from a wide range of disciplines as well as military officers * An updated historiographical essay compiled by Dr. Allan R. Millett, one of the nation's leading military historians and experts on the Korean War * More than 350 illustrations and 21 detailed maps * A chronology of the Korean War, a glossary, and a general bibliography
Call Number: 951.904203 E56 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-09
Historical Dictionary of the War in Vietnam by Ronald B. FrankumFor Southeast Asia, the Vietnam War altered forever the history, topography, people, economy, and politics of the Democratic Republic of Vietnam (DRV), the Republic of Vietnam (RVN), Cambodia, and Laos. That the war was controversial is an understatement as is the notion that the war can be understood from any one perspective. One way of understanding the Vietnam War is by marking its time with turning points, both major and minor, that involved events or decisions that helped to influence its course in the years to follow. By examining a few of these turning points, an organizational framework takes shape that makes understanding the war more possible. Historical Dictionary of the War in Vietnam emphasizes the international nature of the war, as well as provide a greater understanding of the long scope of the conflict. The major events associated with the war will serve as the foundation of the book while additional entries will explore the military, diplomatic, political, social, and cultural events that made the war unique. While military subjects will be fully explored, there will be greater attention to other aspects of the war. All of this is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Vietnam War.
Call Number: 959.704303 F834h
Publication Date: 2011-06-10
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)The largest and most comprehensive study to date of one of the longest and most divisive conflicts in U.S. history. * Over 900 A-Z entries with extensive cross references after each entry * Biographies of key Vietnamese and American participants * 200 primary source documents * 150 illustrations and 22 maps
Call Number: 959.704303 E562 1988
Publication Date: 1998-09-18
Dangerous Games by James E. Wise; Scott BaronThe Cold War was only cold in that the major powers, the U.S. and the Soviet Union, did not engage in a nuclear war. But during that period (1945-1991) there were wars, spying, shoot downs of numerous reconnaissance aircraft, captures of U.S. military personnel, murders, defections, a space race with men put in orbit and an eventual moon landing. Dangerous Games: Faces, Incidents and Casualties of the Cold War is a return to that era. This book contains many unknown and long-since forgotten stories of that period. With the resurgence of Russia, and its aggressive handling of the Georgian situation, Eastern European countries have become increasingly alarmed that Russia is attempting to recreate a sphere of influence over satellite states of the former Soviet Union. To add to the mounting tension with the West, Russia in its attempt to become a world power once again, has already begun to show its flag in the Western Hemisphere. Considering that we may be facing a second Cold War, this book is a timely reminder of some notable incidents from the intense political period following the end of the Second World War.
Call Number: 909.825 W812d 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
Encyclopedia of Cold War Espionage, Spies, and Secret Operations by Richard C. S. Trahair; Robert L. MillerPreviously unknown operations and new names continue to surface in the Encyclopedia of Cold War Espionage, Spies, and Secret Operations. This new edition contains updated information on Cold War spying, with over 350 A#150;Z main entries (over thirty of them new) biographical sketches, and an updated bibliography. In support of the entries the book includes useful tools: a complete chronology of significant espionage activities; a glossary of key terms and individuals; references to other sources, either in print or electronic formats; and a full index. The latest Russian deep cover spy cases of 2010 and the sequel are part of this edition. Richard C. S. Trahair is on the faculty at La Trobe University in Australia. Robert L. Miller is the founder and senior editor of Enigma Books.
Call Number: 327.120904 T765ec 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
The Encyclopedia of the Cold War by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); Priscilla Mary Roberts (Contribution by); John S. D. Eisenhower (Foreword by)A comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world. * 1,299 entries covering all facets of the Cold War from its origins to its aftermath, including all political, diplomatic, military, social, economic, and cultural aspects of the conflict * Over 200 internationally recognized contributors from around the world, many writing about events and issues from the perspective of their country of origin * Over 175 original documents--a collection that draws heavily on recently opened files from archives in China, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union * More than 470 powerful images and illustrations plus 47 maps detailing specific military conflicts and movements of various groups * Indexes that are both alphabetically and categorically organized, covering people, places, events, weapons systems, and more
Call Number: 909.825 E56 2008
Publication Date: 2007-09-12
The Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)This in-depth study of U.S. involvement in the modern Middle East carefully weighs the interplay of domestic, cultural, religious, diplomatic, international, and military events in one of the world's most troubled regions. * Hundreds of alphabetically organized entries on wars, political events, religious and cultural issues, and diplomatic initiatives, as well as in-depth essays on background material, area and regional analyses, and biographical entries * An introduction by General Anthony Zinni, USMC (Ret), former commander in chief of U.S. Central Command * A chronologically arranged final volume comprised of primary and contemporary documents with individual introductions * A detailed chronology of events * Cross-references and books for further reading appended to each entry * A bibliography of over 450 books that are the latest in the field
Call Number: REF 355.0095603 E56
Publication Date: 2010-10-08
Defense and Security by Karl DeRouen (Editor); Uk Heo (Editor)An authoritative, up-to-date examination of the national security and defense policies of 50 influential nations and regions across the globe. * Chapters cover defense spending and experiences with conflict for over 50 countries * Forty distinguished contributors from different countries and institutions, including Ivelaw Griffith and John Henderson, who are world experts on the security situations in their areas of interest * Two tables in each essay with basic security data for quick lookup * Bibliographic information included for each entry
Call Number: 355.0330003 D313 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-27
Encyclopedia of Ancient Battles by Harry Sidebottom (Editor); Michael Whitby (Editor)Focused on battle narratives of the classical world on land and at sea, this three-volume reference covers Archaic Greece in the eighth century BC to the rise of Islam in the seventh century AD. Three-volume reference on land and sea battles of the classical world from Archaic Greece in the eighth century BC to the rise of Islam in the seventh century AD Concentrates on narratives of specific battles, sieges, campaigns, and wars Contains the most complete and up-to-date scholarship on the subject Organized by individual wars, with chronological entries for each battle Brings together a distinguished, international group of experts on ancient military history Get the digital version at www.encyclopediaofancientbattles.com.
Call Number: REF 355.47 E56 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Encyclopedia of Guerrilla Warfare by Ian F. W. BeckettAlthough many consider Mao Tse Tung (Mao Zedong) and Che Guevara to be its inventors, guerrilla warfare was already old hat in biblical times. * Detailed bibliography promotes further study * Chronology of important events
Call Number: 355.425 B396e 1999
Publication Date: 1999-03-22
Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations by Oliver Ramsbotham; Tom WoodhouseEncyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations analyzes the broad national, regional, cultural, and international contexts of peacekeeping. Special focus is placed on such contemporary issues as human rights, peacebuilding from below, conflict resolution theory, civilian peacekeeping, gender considerations, and women in peacekeeping. The coverage is enhanced by a chronology, charts, maps, a list of acronyms, an annotated bibliography, and references to key websites.
Call Number: 355.357 E56 1999
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
An Encyclopedia of Naval History by Anthony Bruce; William B. CogarThis comprehensive encyclopedia provides a complete guide to world naval history. Over 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries provide in-depth coverage of major sea battles, principal commanders, the evolution of the warship, weapons and strategy, tactics, and organization. International in scope, with a focus on the United States and Britain, the core of the book features descriptions of every notable naval engagement from 1571 onward. Brief, factual accounts and bibliographic sources on the background, main events, participants, and outcomes of each battle are meticulously cited throughout.
Call Number: 359.003 B886a 1998
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
The Encyclopedia of War by Gordon Martel (Editor)This ground-breaking 5-volume reference is a comprehensive printand electronic resource covering the history of warfare fromancient times to the present day, across the entire globe. Arrangedin A-Z format, the Encyclopedia provides an overview of themost important events, people, and terms associated with warfare- from the Punic Wars to the Mongol conquest of China, and theWar on Terror; from the Ottoman Sultan, Suleiman ?theMagnificent?, to the Soviet Military Commander, GeorgiKonstantinovich Zhukov; and from the crossbow to chemical warfare. Individual entries range from 1,000 to 6,000 words with thelonger, essay-style contributions giving a detailed analysis of keydevelopments and ideas. Drawing on an experienced andinternationally diverse editorial board, the Encyclopedia isthe first to offer readers at all levels an extensive referencework based on the best and most recent scholarly research. Theonline platform further provides interactive cross-referencinglinks and powerful searching and browsing capabilities within thework and across Wiley-Blackwell?s comprehensive onlinereference collection. Learn more at www.encyclopediaofwar.com. Selected by Choice as a 2013 Outstanding Academic Title Recipient of a 2012 PROSE Award honorable mention
Call Number: REF 355.0203 E56 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-17
Germany at War by David T. Zabecki (Editor)Written by experts for use by nonexperts, this monumental work probes Germany's "Genius for War" and the unmistakable pattern of tactical and operational innovation and excellence evident throughout the nation's military history. * Pulls together all the historical military threads that resulted in modern Germany * Examines wars, battles, leaders, weapons, and strategy and tactics * Features contributors from 14 countries, including official historians from America, Germany, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Estonia * Offers biographies of selected German military leaders who made significant contributions in non-German wars, such as Friedrich Wilhelm von Steuben, Christian von Zweibrücken, and Johann Gottlieb Rall (American Revolution) and Carl Schurz (American Civil War) * Includes 77 original documents, more than half of which were translated into English for the first time for this encyclopedia
Call Number: REF 355.00943 G373z 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Ground Warfare by Stanley L. Sandler (Editor); Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)Spanning the recorded history of ground warfare from antiquity to the Atomic Age, this three-volume authoritative reference work documents it all--from generals to GIs, catapults to Kalashnikovs, ancient Israel to post-Soviet Chechnya. * 1,200+ detailed A-Z entries, cross-referenced for further reading, chronicle every aspect of ground warfare throughout history * Numerous drawings, engravings, and diagrams depict everything from Cyrus the II conquering Babylon to the Battle of Waterloo * Photographs show leaders from Tito to T. E. Lawrence, weapons, and battles such as Antietam * Maps range from Alexander's empire to World War II
Call Number: REF 355.003 G882 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-23
Guide to Military Operations Other Than War by Keith E. Bonn; Anthony E. BakerComprehensive reference for military forces and other agencies Peacekeeping, humanitarian assistance, nation assistance, civil agency support The first book to cover on-the-ground functions, such as working with international and interagency task forces; methods of coordination; rules of engagement; checkpoints; civilian population and movement control; evacuating noncombatants; distributing humanitarian aid; operating dislocated civilian camps; providing medical care; conducting cordons and searches; disarming belligerents; confiscating hostile weapons and equipment; conducting negotiations; exchanging prisoners; interacting with the media; and dozens of other military and civil support type operations.
Call Number: 355.34 B716g 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Historical Dictionary of Intelligence Failures by Glenmore S. Trenear-HarveyAn Intelligence failure can be defined where there was intelligence available about a particular event, but either it was not collected or was mishandled later in the assessment cycle, as opposed to the failure of an intelligence operation. The Historical Dictionary of Intelligence Failures covers the history of intelligence failures through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 100 cross-referenced dictionary entries on the Ardennes Offensive, the Six Day War, and the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Prague Spring, the Arab Spring, 9/11. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the intelligence industry.
Call Number: 327.12092 T794h
Publication Date: 2014-11-20
Historical Dictionary of International Intelligence by Nigel WestIntelligence is now acknowledged as the hidden dimension to international diplomacy and national security. It is the hidden piece of the jigsaw puzzle of global relations that cements relationships, undermines alliances and topples tyrants, and after many decades of being deliberately overlooked or avoided, it is now regarded as a subject of legitimate study by academics and historians. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of International Intelligence covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 500 cross-referenced entries on espionage techniques, categories of agents, crucial operations spies, defectors, moles, double and triple agents, and the tradecraft they apply. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the international intelligence.
Call Number: 327.1203 W519h
Publication Date: 2015-05-21
Historical Dictionary of the Russian Civil Wars, 1916-1926 by Jonathan D. SmeleThis book is a detailed reference of the twentieth century struggles that were waged across and beyond the decaying Russian Empire at the end of the First World War, as tsarism and democratic alternatives to it collapsed and the world's first Communist state, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, was born. At the same time, it is a necessary corrective to studies that have viewed events of the time as a unitary "Russian Civil War" that sprang from the Russian Revolution of 1917. Instead, it contributes to the ongoing process of integrating the civil wars into a "continuum of crises" that wracked the Russian Empire and its would-be successor states across a prolonged period. The Historical Dictionary of the Russian Civil Wars, 1916-1926 covers the history of this period through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has almost 2,000 cross-referenced entries on individuals, political and governmental institutions and political parties, and military formations and concepts, as well as religion, art, film, propaganda, uniforms, and weaponry. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Russian Civil War.
Call Number: 947.0841
Publication Date: 2015-11-19
Historical Dictionary of United States-Middle East Relations by Peter L. HahnU.S. foreign relations in the Middle East has remained crucial through many decades and the complications facing the United States in the Middle East have become even more acute. While the United States downgraded its military operations in Iraq, that country failed to achieve a stable, democratic footing and instead experienced schism and civil strife. Israeli-Palestinian disputes over land, the status of refugees, and control of Jerusalem intensified, and international conflicts between Arab states and Israel escalated for the first time since the 1980s. The Arab Spring protest movements of 2011 and after ignited political turmoil across the region, leading to revolutionary change in several states and triggering persistent unrest and violence in Libya, Egypt, Tunisia, Yemen, Syria, and Iraq. During the recent decade, in short, the Middle East has become the most unstable, dangerous, and complicated region of the world and the United States remains near the center of the maelstrom. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of United States-Middle East Relations contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 300 cross-referenced entries on national leaders, non-governmental organizations, policy initiatives, and armed conflicts, as well as entries on such topics as intelligence, immigration, and weapons of mass destruction. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the US and Middle East Relations.
Call Number: 327.7305603 H148h
Publication Date: 2016-09-19
Philosophers of War by Daniel Coetzee (Editor); Lee W. Eysturlid (Editor); Dennis Showalter (Foreword by)This user-friendly reference systematically covers the entire intellectual history of strategy and war, in all cultures and all times. * Presents entries with consistent organization and order of information, allowing readers to easily compare and discern key differences * The only work of its kind, the work provides comprehensive coverage on all military thought, including theorists not available elsewhere or in English * Ideal for students of military and strategic thought as well as academic researchers and casual readers alike
Call Number: 355.001 P568 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-21
Twentieth-Century War and Conflict by Gordon Martel (Editor)Drawn from the award-winning 5-volume Encyclopedia of War,this valuable, one-volume reference provides readers with essentialinformation on the conflicts and concepts that shaped globalwarfare in the twentieth-century and up to the present day. Provides essential coverage of twentieth-century warfareacross the world Incorporates entries on all major wars, conflicts and conceptsin the study of warfare during the period Features detailed coverage of the First and Second World Wars,along with conflicts including the Russo-Japanese War, theGreco-Turkish War, the Falklands Conflict, the Soviet Invasion ofAfghanistan, the Gulf Wars, the War Against Terrorism, and theSomalian Civil War Covers topics including chemical warfare, ethnic cleansing,psychological warfare, and women and war Creates an affordable and handy personal reference forstudents of modern and contemporary history, professional scholars,and military history enthusiasts Comprises authoritative, up-to-date content - each entryranging from 1,000 to 6,000 words - written by the bestinternational scholars
Call Number: REF 355.020904 T971
Publication Date: 2014-07-28
The War Chronicles by Joseph CumminsA Global Survey of Modern Warfare, from the First Fervid Days of the French Revolution of 1789 to the Bloody Stalemate that Ended the Iran-Iraq War in 1988 In the modern era, warfare entered a new phase. Technological innovation yielded evermore destructive weaponry, international communications and alliances greatly extended the reach of conflicts, and military strategists increasingly targeted infrastructure and civilians, while new media--first photography, then film and television--conveyed the horror and brutality of industrialized combat to those who had the good fortune to live beyond the battle zones. The War Chronicles: From Flintlocks to Machine Gunsadopts the innovative and accessible format of its predecessor, which spanned the period from 500 BC to the American Revolution, to chart the astonishingly rapid evolution of modern warfare. In doing so, it traces the transformation of battle tactics, from the prearranged set-piece encounters of the Napoleonic Wars to the massive naval landings and aerial bombardments of World War II, explains the scientific innovations that yielded the machine gun, the tank, and the atom bomb, and vividly renders the key victories that turned the tide of war, from Waterloo to Gettysburg and D-Day. At the same time, it reiterates the constants of conflict: the slaughters and massacres, including the Holocaust and the little-known Taiping Rebellion, which killed up to forty million Chinese; the personal sacrifices made by those battling tyranny, among them the rebels of revolutionary France, Greece, and Mexico; and the extraordinary influence of charismatic leaders, ranging from Napoleon and Pancho Villa to Mao Zedong and Hitler. Sweeping in its scope, yet intimate in its insights into the motivations of politicians, strategists, commanders, and soldiers, this is a collection that will enhance your understanding of the modern world and your own place in it.
Call Number: 355.0209 C971w 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Warfare and Armed Conflicts by Micheal ClodfelterIn its revised and updated fourth edition, this exhaustive encyclopedia provides a record of casualties of war from the last five centuries through 2015, with new statistical and analytical information. Figures include casualties from global terrorism, the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and the fight against the Islamic State. New entries cover an additional 20 armed conflicts between 1492 and 2007 not included in previous editions. Arranged roughly by century and subdivided by world region, chronological entries include the name and dates of the conflict, precursor events, strategies and details, the outcome and its aftermath.
Call Number: REF 904.7 C643w 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-09
Women in the Military
An Encyclopedia of American Women at War by Lisa Tendrich Frank (Editor)A sweeping review of the role of women within the American military from the colonial period to the present day. * An extensive bibliography offers additional reading and research opportunities * Accessibly written essays introduce the thematic developments of each major conflict in American history * Supporting photographs and illustrations depict key female figures * An informative overview in the frontmatter provides historical context to women's roles in the military
Call Number: REF 355.00820973 E59
Publication Date: 2013-01-17
Women and the Military by Victoria Sherrow"The intended audience for this encyclopedia is students, librarians, journalists, members of the military, and general readers. They will find Women and the Military a useful and welcome resource." - American Reference Books Annual
Call Number: 355.0082 S553w 1996
Publication Date: 1996-12-30
Women and War by Bernard A. Cook (Editor)In this unique encyclopedia, 120 leading scholars from around the world provide comprehensive treatment of the role of women in war, from the first written history to the present. * Nearly 500 A-Z entries on women as combatants, spies, auxiliaries, medics, supporters, opponents, and victims of war from antiquity to the present and on all continents * Contributions from 140 leading scholars from the Americas, Asia, Australia, and Europe * Sidebars containing original documents from autobiographies, archives, and newspapers present firsthand coverage of women at war * Text enlivened by more than 70 photographs of women combatants, medical personnel, peace activists, spies, and secret agents
Call Number: REF 355.02082 W872 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-19
Women in the United States Military by Judith BellafaireWomen in the United States Military: An Annotated Bibliography is the most complete and up to date listing of resources to help students and scholars understand the effect women have had on the wars that have shaped the United States. Covering everything from the American Revolution to Operations in Iraq, Women in the United States:Military is essential for all academic and research libraries.