It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
358 Air and other specialized forces and warfare; engineering and related services
359 Sea forces and warfare
940 History of Europe
940.3 - 940.499 World War I
940.53 - 940.5499 World War II
950 History of Asia
951.9042 Korean War
959.7043 Vietnam War
956.704 Persian Gulf War
970 History of N. America
973.7 Civil War
Finding Topic Ideas
Try the resources below to help you get ideas for possible research topics:
Encyclopedia of American Military History by Spencer Tucker (Editor)From the first English settlements in North America to the present, the US military has evolved from poorly trained militia formations into the world's most powerful professional military establishment. During that time the nation has fought almost every type of war, from guerilla engagements to global conflicts. In many ways the US military reflects the society from which it evolved; in more recent years, especially, the military has also had an impact on civilian society. Understanding the history of America's wars and its military establishment can help us to understand ourselves and our world a bit better. Presented in three volumes, this encyclopedia is a comprehensive overview of American military history. More than 1200 entries cover military leaders, wars, campaigns, battles, events, famous soldiers, military branches, key technological developments, overviews of weapons systems and more. It covers the period of the colonial wars to the present, and gives special attention to the minorities and women who have contributed significantly to American military success.
Call Number: 355.00973 E562 2003
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Encyclopedia of Conflicts since World War II by James Ciment (Editor)This illustrated A-Z reference presents thorough descriptions and analysis of 172 significant post-World War II conflicts.
Call Number: 909.82 E56
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
Encyclopedia of Military Science by G. Kurt Piehler (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Military Science provides a comprehensive, ready-reference on the organization, traditions, training, purpose, and functions of today′s military. Entries include coverage of the duties, responsibilities, and authority of military personnel and an understanding of strategies and tactics of the modern military and how they interface with political, social, legal, economic, and technological factors. A large component is devoted to issues of leadership, group dynamics, motivation, problem-solving, and decision making in the military context. Finally, this work also covers recent American military history since the end of the Cold War with a special emphasis on peacekeeping and peacemaking operations, the First Persian Gulf War, the events surrounding 9/11, and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq and how the military has been changing in relation to these events.
Call Number: REF 355.003 E56 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-16
Encyclopedia of Military Technology and Innovation by Stephen BullFrom the Abrams M1 tank to the zeppelin, this essential reference details the invention and evolution of nearly 600 of the most important advances in military technology from prehistory to the present. International in scope, it covers weapons, ammunition, defenses, land vehicles, aircraft, ships, detection, stealth, gear, supplies, weapons of mass destruction, and much more. Whether researching such cutting-edge technologies as the B-2 Stealth Bomber, Patriot Missile, and the Roborat project or such historical topics as forts, Molotov cocktails, or the U-2, Encyclopedia of Military Technology and Innovation is a must-have reference. Warfare and national defense have provided a strong stimulus for technological advances throughout history. This reference provides students and researchers from high school through college, scholars, and the general public essential information, historical perspective, and scientific context to understand better the development, capabilities, and uses of major military technologies. Fifty illustrations, helpful cross-references, a bibliography, and an index help users navigate this reference and supplement their research.
Call Number: 623.03 B935e 2004
Publication Date: 2004-06-30
Harper Encyclopedia Military History by Trevor N. Dupuy; Ernest R. Dupuy
Call Number: 355.009 D945hm 1993
Publication Date: 1993-05-01
The Oxford Companion to Military History by Richard Holmes (Editor)A comprehensive A-Z guide to warfare from the classical period to the present day, including the social, political, technological, and economic background of major conflicts. Entries cover people (military leaders, theorists, inventors, etc.), weapons and equipment, wars, campaigns, andbattles, strategy and tactics, logistics, fortifications, military life, military literature, military medicine, as well as wide-ranging contextual entries on topics as diverse as animals in war and pacifism. There are 75 specially commissioned maps, and 20 in-text line diagrams.
Call Number: 355.003 O98
Publication Date: 2001-08-02
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History by Timothy J. Lynch (Editor); Paul S. Boyer (Editor); David Milne; Christopher NicholsThe Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History, a two-volume set, will offer both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States. At a time of war, in which ongoing efforts to recalibrate Americandiplomacy are as imperative as they are perilous, the Oxford Encyclopedia will present itself as the first recourse for scholars wishing to deepen their understanding of the crucial features of the historical and contemporary foreign policy landscape and its perennially martial components.Entries will be written by the top diplomatic and military historians and key scholars of international relations from within the American academy, supplemented, as is appropriate for an encyclopedia of diplomacy, with entries from foreign-based academics, in the United Kingdom and elsewhere.The crucial importance of the subject is reflected in the popularity of university courses dedicated to diplomatic and military history and the enduring appeal of international relations (IR) as a political science discipline drawing on both. The Oxford Encyclopedia will be a basic reference toolacross both disciplines - a potentially very significant market.
Call Number: 355.00973 O98L 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
The SAGE Encyclopedia of War: Social Science Perspectives by Paul I. Joseph (Editor)Traditional explorations of war look through the lens of history and military science, focusing on big events, big battles, and big generals. By contrast, The SAGE Encyclopedia of War: Social Science Perspective views war through the lens of the social sciences, looking at the causes, processes and effects of war and drawing from a vast group of fields such as communication and mass media, economics, political science and law, psychology and sociology. Key features include: · Approximately 700 entries organized A-to-Z, authored and signed by key academics in the field · Entries conclude with cross-references and further readings, aiding the researcher further in their research journeys · An alternative Reader's Guide table of contents groups articles by disciplinary areas and by broad themes · A Glossary and helpful Resource Guide directing researchers to classic books, journals and electronic resources for more in-depth study This important and distinctive work will be a key reference for all researchers in the fields of political science, international relations and sociology.