Combat Studies Institute
The Combat Studies Institute provides a wide range of military historical and educational support to the Combined Arms Center, Training and Doctrine Command, and the United States Army. CSI researches, writes, and publishes (via the Army University Press) original interpretive works on issues of relevance to our Army and the defense of our Nation.
Federation of American Scientists (cannot access through NIPR)
This web site provides easy access to a large and diverse list of publications on military and defense issues, including weapons control, weapons agreements, Congressional Research Service reports, Government Accounting Office reports, and Defense Department reports. There are also links to news reports and electronic reference tools.
Society for Military History
The Society is dedicated to promoting the study of military history in the United States. The web site describes military history programs, lists future conferences, and has links to Internet sites focusing on military studies in the United States and Europe.
United States Air Force. Air War College
The Air War College web page has online and printed reference sources covering every aspect of air warfare. Air War College studies and other U.S. government publications on Air Force-related issues are accessible on this site.
United States Air Force. Historical Research Agency
This agency is responsible for publishing reports on Air Force unit lineage, organizational histories, and papers on prominent Air Force officials.
United States Army. Institute of Heraldry
U.S. Army patches, insignia, and other heraldic items fall under the purview of The Institute of Heraldry (TIOH).
The address is:
The Institute of Heraldry
9325 Gunston Road, Room S-112
Fort Belvoir, VA 22060-5579
The Institute of Heraldry does have a website. The link is listed below, but the website is currently down due to maintenance. In the interim, TIOH is available to respond to inquiries via e-mail and phone:
Phone: (571) 515-0346
Email: usarmy.belvoir.hqda.mbx.tioh-webmaster@mail.mil
Vietnam War Archive at Texas Tech University
One of the largest Vietnam War collections in the United States comprising 4 million pages of publications and manuscripts, 1.5 million pages of microfilm, 2,000 maps, and 30,000 photo and video images.
Web Resources
American Presidency Project - Consolidated and organized searchable database of messages and papers of the presidents (Washington – Taft), public papers of the Presidents (Hoover – Trump), and presidential documents. The archives section contains executive orders, press conferences, State of Union addresses, inaugural addresses, election debates, and more.
Carl von Clausewitz Resources - This website is intended as a central source for information, articles, and arguments about the man and his ideas. It also includes a great deal of ancillary information (e.g., on Clausewitz-related tourism, graphics, humor) that may be of use to those researching, writing, or teaching about Clausewitz. It is designed to accommodate anyone interested in understanding human strategies, including not only scholarly researchers on Clausewitz but also students and faculty in professional military education (PME) institutions, business schools, and other organizations concerned with human competition and conflict.
Chronicling America - Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Digital Public Library of America - All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Global Terrorism Database - The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2017 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 180,000 cases.
GovInfo - Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Harvard Think Tank Search - Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.
Internet Archive (cannot access through NIPR) - Digital library of free books, movies, music, and “Wayback Machine.”
Making of America - Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints
Military Legal Resources - U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's Legal Center & School in Charlottesville, VA, holds extensive collections of primary source materials and publications in the field of military law. Selections from these collections are now being made accessible in full text PDF versions via the Library of Congress Federal Research Division (FRD) Web site.
Texas Tech Map Collection - The Perry Casteñeda Library Map Collection provides online access to digital versions of all Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) reference and thematic maps. Army Map Service (AMS) topographic map series and a wide variety of historic maps are also available for viewing and downloading. Maps are arranged alphabetically by geographic region or country and/or by various thematic types. (Updated frequently)
Treaty Database - The Treaty Database contains up to 700 international treaties. Due to the diligence necessary when editing legal materials, around 150 treaties are available to the end-user. The number is growing on a daily basis.
The United Nations Treaty Collection - The Secretary-General of the United Nations is the depositary of more than 560 multilateral treaties which cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment.
United Nations Digital Library - The Dag Hammarskjöld Library creates content, data and metadata related to UN information, resources, publications, and documents. Our products include: bibliographic metadata, Index to Proceedings, Index to Speeches, Voting Records, UNBIS Thesaurus, research guides and frequently asked questions.