In 2008, the Army Geospatial Enterprise was created as an integrated system of technologies, standards and processes that provides a comprehensive data, information and services that enables the Army's full spectrum operations. The AGC Geospatial Acquisition Support Directorate Architecture Team was charged with developing the Army Geospatial Enterprise Architecture to provide support to the Army Acquisition Community to implement the Army Geospatial Enterprise.
Brings together materials from three premier collections: the Libraryof Congress Geography and Map Division, the Virginia Historical Society, and theLibrary of Virginia. Among the reconnaissance, sketch, and theater-of-war maps are thedetailed battle maps made by Major Jedediah Hotchkiss for Generals Lee and Jackson,General Sherman's Southern military campaigns, and maps taken from diaries,scrapbooks, and manuscripts all available for the first time in oneplace.
Welcome to the blog for the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress. The largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world, the Geography and Map Division contains over six million maps in addition to a wide array of atlases, globes, raised relief models, archives, a vast collection of digital data and a GIS research center. Please join us as we reveal the world of geography by exploring the past, present, and future of maps and mapping.
"The National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) delivers world-class geospatial intelligence that provides a decisive advantage to policymakers, warfighters, intelligence professionals and first responders" - NGA official website
The search engine for historical maps. Indexes over 400,000 maps from the archives and libraries that were open to the idea and provided their online content.
As one of the cornerstones of the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Geospatial Program, The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response.
TopoView highlights one of the USGS's most important and useful products, the topographic map. In 1879, the USGS began to map the Nation's topography. This mapping was done at different levels of detail, to support various land use and other purposes. As the years passed, the USGS produced new map versions of each area. TopoView shows the many and varied topographic maps of each of these areas through history. This can be particularly useful for historical purposes, such as finding the names of natural and cultural features that have changed over time.
In 1938 the predecessors of today's Department of History at the United States Military Academy began developing a series of campaign atlases to aid in teaching cadets a course entitled, "History of the Military Art." Since then, the Department has produced over six atlases and more than one thousand maps, encompassing not only America’s wars but global conflicts as well. In keeping abreast with today's technology, the Department of History is providing these maps on the internet as part of the department's outreach program. The maps were created by the United States Military Academy’s Department of History and are in most cases digital versions of maps in the atlases printed by the United States Defense Printing Agency.
This collection contains maps showing troop positions beginning on June 6, 1944 to July 26, 1945. Starting with the D-Day Invasion, the maps give daily details on the military campaigns in Western Europe, showing the progress of the Allied Forces as they push towards Germany. Some of the sheets are accompanied by a declassified "G-3 Report" giving detailed information on troop positions for the period 3 Mar. 1945-26 July 1945. These maps and reports were used by the commanders of the United States forces in their evaluation of the campaigns and for planning future strategies.
