Mission doctrine and principles of employmentThe purpose of this discussion is to show how troop carrier has been and can be used in airborne missions. In discussing the basic principles of employment and how they have evolved from the history of the airborne idea thus far, let us understand that troop carrier and airborne units must be a closely knit team and must be considered as such until that time when the airborne units are on the ground and can come under the command of the major unit in whose combat area they are to be employed. Headings: types of missions, Sicilian operations in detail, narrative of the Sicilian missions, evaluation of the Sicilian missions, applying Sicilian lessons to Italian mainland campaign, and the Normandy invasion and principles of employment of airborne units.
R.A.F. Mediterranean review no. 4.This document describes the conquest of Sicily (preparatory measures, the assault, the enemy’s stand at Catania, reduction of the island, and a diary of the Sicilian campaign), air operations, air transport, etc., during World War II.
Airborne and Ranger
82d Airborne Division in Sicily and ItalyThis collection is one of a series describing campaigns in World War II by the 82d (All-American) Division. In the course of these operations the 82d Airborne Division became the first American Airborne Division to fight in two Theaters of Operations (the North African or Mediterranean, and the European Theaters). General Officers who served in the 82d Airborne Division became commanders of every American Airborne Division that saw action in World War II, and one became commander of the only American Airborne Corps formed during the war.
Administrative order no. 1 [82nd Airborne]Contents include: supply; evacuation; traffic; personnel; chemical supply and instruction; ordnance annex (units of fire); prisoners of war and civilian internees; procurement policies and procedures; G-4 periodic reports; ammunition reports; recommendation for citation; unit journal (3rd Battalion); analysis of the airborne participation in Operation Husky; alert plan; personal and unit baggage data forms; organizational equipment and unit vehicle forms; instruction on marking personnel and unit baggage; various hand drawn illustrations; air movement tables; warning order; and departure preparations and alert plan.
Report of airborne operations, "Husky" and "Bigot"This report covers the training in North Africa of the American Airborne and troop carrier units, the final organization and preparation at takeoff airfields, the drop itself, and the first week of operation. The report is based upon observations by the Executive of the Fifth Army Airborne Training Center during the training period of the 82d Division and the 52nd Troop Carrier Wing as an attached member of the 505th Parachute Infantry Combat Team during the drop on D-1 and the six days following.
History of Allied Force Headquarters, part 2, section 1This document contains the reorganization of AFHQ including the chiefs of staff, general staff, personnel growth, intelligence staff, and operations staff changes that developed during the South Italian campaigns.
Lessons from the Sicilian campaign [Allied Force Headquarters]This training memorandum and digest of combat experience and battle lessons from the Sicilian campaign represents a summary of the major lessons from the land operations in the Sicilian campaign; it has value in the training of units and individuals who had not yet entered into combat or having experienced the conditions such as prevailed in Sicily. There is a reference table of contents regarding lessons learned in sections including: the results of effective unit training, air support and ground cooperation, mine warfare and booby traps, armored force units, and field artillery units.
Report on Sicilian campaign [MG Lucas]This document contains two reports- one dated 21 July 1943 and the second 26 August 1943 (supplement of the first report). The author details the outstanding characteristics of the Sicilian campaign, how many German troops escaped them, a discussion on land mines, details about the military equipment used, accompanying General Patton during the recent landing operation, combat troops burying the dead, and a multitude of additional facts.
Antiaircraft Artillery (AAA)
Antiaircraft action summary, June 1944. Information bulletin no. 24.Antiaircraft action summaries were issued on a bi-monthly basis- these more frequent publications presented timely statistics and studies of tactical and technical developments. Each publication also includes a discussion either of tactical or technical developments or intelligence reports on enemy AA developments. This publication details the Sicilian operation of July 1943, and later summaries will include discussions of actions at Salerno and Anzio, Italy, the Gilberts, Bougainville, New Britain, New Guinea, and others. Table of contents: Chapter I- antiaircraft statistics for first two years of war. Chapter II- introduction to Pacific AA. Operations, January-February, 1944. Chapter III- antiaircraft actions of UGS convoys in Mediterranean. Chapter IV- antiaircraft during invasion of Sicily, July 1943.
Armor and Cavalry
The 2d Armored Division in the Sicilian CampaignThis is a narrative of the participation of the United States 2d Armored Division in the Sicily Campaign during the period 10 July to 25 July 1943 and of the prior training and problems encountered by the division during the months previous to the landings in Sicily.
Cavalry reconnaissance number five, operations of the 3d Cavalry Reconnaissance Troop, Mechanized. Part I: Sicily.Reconnaissance is Cavalry's traditional role. Mechanized Cavalry units currently are being trained to do that specialized job for higher commanders. A Cavalry reconnaissance unit, moving out ahead to obtain information, normally makes the initial contact with the enemy and maintains it. To be of use to higher commanders, the information which the unit sends back must be accurate, complete, and timely. This pamphlet is Number Five in a series of first-hand accounts of the work Cavalry units have done and are doing on the various battle fronts of World War II. It deals specifically with the operations of the 3d Cavalry Reconnaissance Troop, Mechanized, during the campaign in Sicily from 10 July to 17 August 1943. The campaign in Sicily was brief, swift, and unrelenting. From the moment when its first platoon hit the beach at Licata, just 80 minutes after the assault wave's landing barges had grounded, the 3d Cavalry Reconnaissance Troop, Mechanized, sought out and made contact with the enemy continuously for 39 days. The ability of this unit to "stand the gaff" demonstrated clearly the soundness and effectiveness of training which it had undergone. Day after day it worked in advance of the 3d Infantry Division of which it was an organic part. The unit's commander during these operations is now a member of Staff and Faculty, The Cavalry School. Number Six in this series will cover the operations of this same unit in Italy.
Seventh Army in SicilyPart One - Summary of Operations -- a. The Plan. b. The Operation. c. Lessons Learned. d. Orders . Part Two - Staff Section Reports
Notes on Operation “Husky” [15th Army Group]The enclosed preliminary comments have been received from 15 Army Group on Operation 'Husky', and have been forwarded to HQ COSSAC by the War Office. Document headings include the following: discharging vehicles from LST; DUKWs; beach organization; mechanical equipment; water supply; mine detectors; landing craft (rocket); skid chains; overloading (lot); and flexibility of military plan.
Civil Affairs
Civil affairs and military government in the Mediterranean theaterThis work is concerned with the Mediterranean Theater of Operations from the point of view of the staff section at Allied Force Headquarters for CA/MG (known as the Civil Affairs Section, Military Government Section, and G-5). It is based with some exceptions only on records which were available at AFHQ and is focused primarily on high-level policy and basic issues of administration.
Civil Affairs Handbook, Italy, section 2: supplement, allied military government manual of proclamations and instructions used in SicilyThis handbook deals with proclamations- and general orders- and instructions (general and special administrative instructions) of the allied military government in Italy; it was prepared in the theater of operation. Sections for imposition of direct and indirect control give background on law, military courts, services affecting tactical units, political guides/directives, Italian law, civilian services, handling of other civilian services, financial and commercial institutions, and detailed plans.
COHQ bulletin Y/6 digest of reports on Operation 'Husky'A summary of reports detailing and analyzing Operation Husky, the Allied invasion of Italy. This document presents highlights of monthly dispatches and reports presented in digest form for ease of use.
Field Artillery
History 7th Field Artillery Battalion, World War IIThis history of the 7th Field Artillery Battalion In World War II Is a compilation of unit reports, extracts from unit journals and maps that cover the period from the convoy operation that took us to the landing at Arzew, Algeria on 8 November 1942, through the campaigns in North Africa, Sicily, the D-Day Normandy Landing on 6 June, 1944, and the campaigns across Europe, ending at Cheb, Czechoslovakia on VE Day 8 May 1945. The reports for month of June '45 provide a glimpse of occupation duties and incremental movement of troops to their homes. Pages entitled Memoranda and Anecdotes have been added so that each person can personalize his book for his family records by noting his experiences, awards, decorations and citations on the sheets provided. The official records that were compiled into this history carry awards, decorations, and battle casualties, but there were omissions. The following subjects are detailed: an abridged history; North African campaigns; Sicilian campaign; Sicilian duties and movement to England; Normandy; St. Lo and Mortain; Mons and Aachen; Hurtgen Forest; the Ardennes- Battle of the Bulge; Bonn and Remagen; Harz Mountains and Czechoslovakia; and occupation duties and return home.
Landings at Oran, Gela, and Omaha Beaches: an infantry battalion commander's observationsIt is the purpose of this study to touch only very slightly on strategy and the action of large units, but to go into some detail on the problems encountered on the battalion level and the methods of solution of those problems during the landing at Oran (Algeria), Gela (Sicily), and Omaha Beach (Normandy) in the European part of World War II. The author was a battalion executive officer in the 26th Infantry, 1st Division, at Oran, and a battalion commander in the same unit at Gela and Omaha Beach.
Night operations by 1st Infantry Division and 104th Infantry Division in World War IIThis document contains a letter from Major General John T. Snodgrass to Major General Harry J. Lemley, Jr. regarding the information on night operations carried out by the First Infantry Division and the 104th Division while under the command of Major General Terry Allen during WWII.
Situation and operations report of the First Infantry Division during the period of its overseas movement, North African and Sicilian campaigns from 8 August 1942 to 7 August 1943Prepared for the Society of the First Division by Major General Terry Allen U.S. Army (Retired) Commanding General, 1st Infantry Division from 6 June 1942 to 7 August 1943. Headings: overseas ; KDmovement and training in Great Britain (8 August – 27 October 1942); invasion of North Africa – capture of Oran (8-10 November 1942); Tunisia – initial phase (20 November 1942 – 1 March 1943); Tunisia – Gafsa operation (17-20 March 1943); Tunisia – Battle of El Guettar (20 March – 7 April 1943); Tunisia – final drive on Tunis (16 April – 13 May 1943); preparations for the invasion of Sicily (19 May – 5 July 1943); invasion of Sicily (10 July – 6 August 1943); results accomplished in the Sicilian campaign; artillery support; change of command in the First Infantry Division; and obligations.
Summary of the Sicily campaign, during World War II (10 July – 16 August 1943) with special reference to the continued offensive & night attacks of the 1st Infantry Division - US Army"The above data is based on the retained battle records of the 1st Infantry Division, and is completely factual"- Terry Allen, Maj. Gen. (Retired). Table of contents: plans and preparations for the invasion; the Allied scheme of maneuver for the conquest of Sicily; the scheme of maneuver of the U.S. 7th Army; the initial drive of the 1st Division in the Sicily campaign; the continuing advance north to Petralia (13-23 July 1943); the advance east from Petralia and the attack on Nicosia (23-30 July 1943); the battle for Troina (the initial stage, 30 July - 3 August 1943); the continued offensive against Troina (3 August - 6 August 1943); and the tasks accomplished in Sicily.
Operations report, 3rd Infantry Division, Sicilian OperationThis report of the 3rd Infantry Division's participation in the Sicilian Operation included information on operations (planning and operational phases) , intelligence, supply, personnel, and special staff. The foreword includes comments by Maj. Gen. L.K. Truscott, division commander.
45th Infantry Division in the Sicilian CampaignOperational reports on the Sicilian campaign taken from the G-3 journal of the 45th Infantry Division. Contains information on 157th, 179th, and 180th Regimental Combat Teams.
Infantry School Personal Experience Monographs: Sicily
Digest of photo-intelligence, preparatory to and during the Operation "Husky, 10 July 1943"This book presents examples of typical natural and man made features of the coast of southern Italy as they appear both from the air and from the ground. It is intended primarily for the use of photo-interpreters who may be engaged in preparation for future amphibious operations. It is designed to serve the following purposes: presenting examples of beach, road and airport defenses used by Germans and Italians; analyzing typical features of beaches, vegetation and terrain in the Mediterranean area; and acquainting the reader with the scope and accuracy of photographic intelligence. The book is divided into three parts. The annotated mosaics comprising the first section are copies of 20" by 24" mosaics which were distributed to army and navy commands prior to Operation Husky. The second section of the book is made up of photographs on which are indicated the results of both aerial and ground observations over the area. The third section is a collection of vertical photographs of installations which have not been so confirmed, but which are particularly clear examples of Axis military practice. Topics include confirmed photographic interpretation information (defenses, airfields, cover and concealment, miscellaneous) and unconfirmed photographic interpretation information (also defenses, airfields, and a miscellaneous section). Scanned from best available copy, Original held at US Army War College.
G-2 estimate of enemy situation No.6 [Seventh Army]Seventh Army. G-2 intelligence survey of Northeastern Sicily, including studies of terrain, transportation routes, civilian infrastructure, and population statistics.
G-2 weekly intelligence summary no. 36, for week ending 1 May 1943Part I- land: enemy operations; enemy dispositions (German, Italian); enemy capabilities; enemy casualties, reinforcements, and strength; and enemy tank state. Part II- air: Axis air activity (by Tunisian based aircraft and by units cased in Sardinia, Sicily, and Italy- bomber reconnaissance, bombers, escort, transport); and Axis air force dispositions (Tunisia, Sicily, Sardinia, Pantellaria). Part III- naval: sightings of enemy shipping; attacks on enemy shipping (submarines, surface forces, Allied air forces); attacks on own shipping; and enemy U/boat dispositions western Mediterranean (German and Italian).
G-2 weekly intelligence summary no. 42, for week ending 12 June 1943Part I- land: the Italian islands (Pantelleria, Lampedusa, Linosa); assembly and movement of German formations in southern France; reforming of the Stalingrad divisions; changes in the Italian High Command; and Italy- miscellaneous. Part II- air: enemy air activity (fighters, reconnaissance and bomber aircraft- convoy escort and transport); and Axis air dispositions as at June 11th, 1943 (Sardinia, Sicily, Italy). Part III- naval: movements of enemy shipping; attacks on enemy shipping; naval bombardments; and enemy shipping losses in the Mediterranean. G-2 estimate of recent developments in Spain and Spanish Morocco- political, military (development of Spanish mobilization, distribution of the Spanish Army, defense of the Tangier zone), and personalities (promotions and appointments).
G-2 weekly intelligence summary no. 43, for week ending 19 June 1943Part I- land: enemy parachutist activity in North Africa; the former Italian islands (Pantelleria, Lampedusa); high-ranking Italian prisoners; summary of recent moves of Italian divisions; and new Italian divisions. Part II- air: enemy air activity (fighters, reconnaissance and bomber aircraft, escort, transport, miscellaneous); and Axis air dispositions as at June 17, 1943 (Sardinia, Sicily, Italy). Part III- naval: movements of enemy shipping (naval. merchant); attacks on enemy shipping; attacks on own ships; and general.
G-2 weekly intelligence summary no. 44, for week ending 26 June 1943Part I- land: operations of enemy parachutists and saboteurs in North Africa; Italian divisions; German divisions in southwestern Europe (locations, movements); and possibility of German reinforcements for Italy. Part II- air: enemy air activity (fighters, reconnaissance, bombers, escort, transport); and Axis air dispositions as at June 26th, 1943 (Sardinia, Sicily, Italy). Part III- naval: movements of enemy naval units.
G-2 weekly intelligence summary no. 49, for week ending 31 July 1943Part I- land: the progress of operations in Sicily; enemy dispositions; the enemy's general defensive operations and probable present intentions; enemy losses; enemy morale; the movement of enemy supplies to Sicily; movement of Axis divisions in the Mediterranean area (Italy, France, Greece); the political revolution in Italy; and personalities in the new Italian government. Part II- air: enemy air activity (fighters, reconnaissance, bombers, transport); and Axis air dispositions as at July 30th, 1943 (Sardinia, Italy south of 42, S. France and Italy north of 42). Part III- naval: attacks on enemy shipping; naval bombardments; and movements of Italian shipping (Sicily, northwest Italy).
Weekly intelligence summary no. 50, for week ending 7 August 1943Part I- land: the progress of operations in Sicily; enemy dispositions; enemy intentions enemy losses; enemy morale; the movement of enemy supplies to Sicily; movement of Axis divisions in the Mediterranean Area (Italy, France, Austria); resume of Axis order of battle in Italy (German, Italian); the political situation in Italy; and biographical sketch of Marshal Badoglio. Part II- air: enemy air activity (fighters, reconnaissance, bombers); and Axis air dispositions as at August 7th (Sardinia, Italy south of 42, S. France and Italy north of 42). Part III- naval: movements of Italian naval units; attacks on enemy shipping; bombardments; and general.
Weekly intelligence summary no. 51, for week ending 14 August 1943Part I- land: the progress of operations in Sicily; enemy dispositions; enemy capabilities and the process of his evacuation; enemy casualties; enemy morale; the movement of Axis divisions in the Mediterranean Area (Italy, France, Balkans, Greece, Crete, Aegean Islands, unlocated); and the political situation in Italy. Part II- air: enemy air activity (fighters, reconnaissance, bombers); and Axis air dispositions as at August 14th (Sardinia, Italy south of 42, S. France and Italy north of 42). Part III- naval: movements of Italian naval units; attacks on enemy shipping; naval bombardments and patrol activity; and attacks on own shipping.
Weekly intelligence summary no. 52, for week ending 21 August 1943Part I- land: the conclusion of operations in Sicily; Axis casualties in the Sicilian campaign (personnel, material, general); German capabilities in the mainland of Italy; German forces in metropolitan Italy and southeastern France; movement of German divisions in France; movement of Italian divisions; dislocation of enemy rail traffic in Italy; and the political situation in Italy. Part II- air: enemy air activity (fighters, reconnaissance, bombers); and Axis air dispositions as at August 21st (Sardinia, Italy south of 42, S. France and Italy north of 42). Part III- naval: movements of Italian naval units; attacks on enemy shipping; naval bombardments; and general.
Report on beach maintenance – Sicily, July, 1943This is an account of the maintenance of 30 Corps over the beaches in Sicily between D day and D + 14. A report was submitted to the War Office by Commander 30 Corps; at the same time a detailed investigation on certain aspects was made by a Q.Ops, War Office, representative. To avoid repetition, these have now been amalgamated into one report. It must, therefore, be realized that certain views expressed are not necessarily those of Commander 30 Corps. The Chief of Combined Operations has already said that he thinks few lessons were learnt from the almost unopposed assault; from the period of maintenance over the beaches, however, we gained much experience. For the first time a large force was maintained for a period of 14 days over the beaches, using for lighterage the most modern craft and amphibians. The favourable conditions under which beach maintenance was carried out must be constantly borne in mind. There was a calm anchorage, dry roads, no tide and little interference from the enemy. Index: preparation and planning; events during and after the landing; notes on the working of sub-area and beach groups; control of maintenance over the beaches; amphibian DUKWS; the beach depots; Royal engineers, Royal electrical mechanical engineers, medical, provost; the shore to shore ferry from Sousse to Sicily; Intercommunication; and contains photographs and maps.
Service command activities during Sicilian OperationsDigest of information on the Sicilian Operations including summary of Administrative Order No.1 HQ III ASAC, resume of air service activities, and commentaries of individuals engaged in the operations. There are four sections.
Maps
7th Army scans of D-Day maps [Sicily]This pdf document contains two 7th Army scans of D-Day maps. The first is a visual observation plan, and the second is a photo-reconnaissance plan
Action report, Western Naval Task Force, the Sicilian campaign, Operation "Husky", July – August, 1943The most gigantic fleet in the world's history was assembled to launch the Allied invasion of Sicily. Over 3,200 ships, craft, and boats made up the Allied naval forces, of which more than 1,700 comprised the Western Naval Task Force. This document provides a narrative of events, an execution of the plan, material and logistics, medical, and communications.
[Joss Husky operation plans Sicily, Italy]Western Naval Task Force. Reports on Operation Husky including G-2 information and intelligence, counterintelligence, landing attack plan, follow-up plan, operational plans, sortie plan, and intelligence plans.
LST loading plans for follow-up units, JOSS forceThis document contains pages of information on loading and follow-up units, JOSS Force, with details regarding the priority, unit, vehicles (no/type), personnel, and code names.
Notes on Husky landingsAllied Force Headquarters. This document contains notes made by an officer of the Fifth Army Invasion Training staff who was attached to an engineer shore regiment for the purpose of observing Husky landing operations. Headings include beaches, the landing, obstacles, communications, vehicles, supply, beach defense, intelligence, and a conclusion.
Report of operations, May - August 1943.[1st Embarkation Group]This report deals with the operations of the 1st Embarkation Group near Bizerte, Tunisia, during the period 15 May 1943 to 24 July 1943. The operation involved the embarkation of troops, vehicles, equipment, and supplies of the 3rd Division (Reinforced) and of Seventh Army all for a shore to shore operation against Sicily. This operation was known as Husky
Order of Battle
Italian order of battle in SicilyAllied Force Headquarters, Office of Assistant Chief of Staff, G-2; [Raggi], A. E. A captured document has revealed the following order of battle for Sicily, amended to 31 May 1943. In a number of instances, companies and troops had been detached from their parent formation and assigned to aerodrome defense units. In view of its date, this should not be regarded as a complete statement of Italian forces in Sicily.
Order of battle (revised 27 October 1943) work sheet, 15th Panzer Grenadier DivisionAssistant Chief of Staff, G-2, First United States Army. This example is prepared from G-2 records and reports of U.S. Corps, Tunisian and Sicilian operations. Index: CG, composition, history, etc., worksheet; notes; personalities in division and subordinate units; FPNs of units within division; 1st Regiment (104 Panzer Grenadier Regiment), worksheet; 2nd Regiment (115th Panzer Grenadier Regiment), worksheet; 3rd Regiment (112th Panzer Grenadier Regiment), worksheet; 4th Regiment (382nd Panzer Grenadier Regiment), worksheet; artillery regiment (33rd Artillery Regiment), worksheet; Tank Battalion (215th Tank Battalion), worksheet; and AA Battalion (14th AA Battalion), worksheet.
Order of battle maps: operations in SicilyThe maps in this volume are essentially reproductions of the Order of Battle maps prepared during World War II by Current Group, Operations Division, WDGS, for the Chief of Staff. The primary purpose of the Order of Battle maps was to show the disposition of Allied troops and the topography in a simple form easily explained to civilian officials.
