It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
2nd Lt. Omer A Heacox Slide Collection
The slides show scenes related to 2LT Heacox's service during World War II in Florida and India. The slides of India show the outpost of Jackal Junction in Assam, India, some shots of work done on the Ledo road, pictures of the areas of Assam, Darjeeling, and Karachi, as well as a group of unlabeled slides of India. The slide list descriptions below are taken from the notes written on the slides. NOTE: The slides of Karachi all say Karachi, India. Since 1947 Karachi has been part of Pakistan.
32nd Volunteer Infantry Association (Philippine Insurrection)
The 32nd Volunteer Infantry Association collection is an open, processed collection of letters, photos, bankbooks and ephemera used by the association during its years of operation. There is also some material dating from the time of the 32nd Infantry’s active duty service during the Philippine Insurrection, 1899-1901.
Army Family Oral History Project
The Army Family Oral History Project is a collection of interviews conducted with the spouses of career 20th century United States Army soldiers. Recording the activities, experiences and memories of Army spouses helps complete the story of the United States Army. The aim is to interview spouses who have shared a career with service members for at least fifteen years
(exceptions to this policy have been made and are identified in the Researcher's Guide
Summary). Initially, interviews have been conducted with the wives of men who made the Army
their career. After women were integrated into the regular Army in 1973, the number of married
women making the Army their career increased. Eventually, this collection will include
interviews conducted with their spouses.
Army General Staff College Collection [Langres, France]
The Army General Staff College (AGSC) collection is an open, processed collection of bound volumes, file folders and maps of curriculum material used at the AGSC in Langres, France from 1917-1918. The collection is not a complete set of curriculum material for the 4 AGSC courses taught from November 1917-December 1918.
Bell Hall Dedication Collection
The Bell Hall Dedication collection is a processed, open collection of official papers, letters and photos of the dedication ceremony of J. Franklin Bell Hall on 14 January 1959. The building honors Major General J. Franklin Bell, Army Chief of Staff, and father of the modern Army school system
Combined Arms Instruction Study Group
The Combined Arms Instruction Study Group (CAIS) was formed in1965 to determine the adequacy of doctrine, principally mechanized infantry, for combined arms instruction.
Its scope was an analysis of doctrine for the employment of armor and infantry, particularly mechanized infantry, which established the basis for combined arms instruction for the 1965-1970 time frame. Also, the implementation of the conclusions and recommendations of the study on “US/FRG mechanized infantry doctrine for the 1965-1975 time period” in instruction at the infantry and the Armor Schools.
Command and General Staff College Library Collection
This is an unrestricted collection documenting the history and administration of the Command and General Staff College library with material from 1910 to the present. It contains eight boxes of items such as annual reports, handbooks and guides, general
histories, correspondence, policies, bibliographies, catalogs, and photographs. The collections also includes three boxes of material on the planning, construction, and relocation to the new Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) facilities at Eisenhower Hall in 1994. An unprocessed box of material on the development of the Army Tactical and Operational Research Library (ATORL) is also included. A detailed finding aid is available in the CARL Archives.
FM 100-5 1986 Collection
The FM 100-5 1986 Collection is an open, processed collection of material emanating from multiple sources collected from the process of writing Field Manual 100-5 1986, which was officially published in May 1986.
Fort Leavenworth Hall of Fame Annual Files (no updated)
The Fort Leavenworth Hall of Fame collection is a processed, open collection containing file folders relating to the operation of the Memorial Hall Association and the Fort Leavenworth Hall of Fame. The collection is found in nine boxes. Four boxes (boxes 1-4) have the folders arranged by year, then by folder number. These file folders contain after action reports, correspondence, publicity clippings, memorandums, decision papers and photographs relating to the Hall of Fame ceremony.
Papers of Maj Earl and Florence Hallgren
The papers of MAJ Earl and Florence Hallgren offer a look at how World War II affected two people from Omaha, Nebraska. The collection is small, but offers an unusual look at the war.
International Officer Collection
The International Officers collection is a small collection of official papers and journal articles of the USACGSC Allied Officer program.
In 1894, Lt. Henri LeComte became the first international student to attend the Command and General Staff College course and in 1994, CGSC commemorated the participation of International Officers by celebrating the International Officers Centennial. The following is collection of various articles and papers published from 1953 to 1998.
Joseph J. Koch Collection
The Joseph J. Koch collection is an extensive personal military collection from the first third of the 20th century and it consists of Army doctrinal materials, books, maps, and other memorabilia pertaining to Major Koch's Army service.The Joseph J. Koch collection is an extensive personal military collection from the first third of the 20th century and it consists of Army doctrinal materials, books, maps, and other memorabilia pertaining to Major Koch's Army service.
Kermit Roosevelt Exchange Lecture Collection
The Kermit Roosevelt Lecture collection is a processed, restricted collection containing audio tapes, video tapes, transcripts and programs relating to the annual Kermit Roosevelt lecture held at the Command and General Staff College. The collection is contained in three boxes in the Library Archives. The materials are arranged chronologically and are not separated by format.
COL Edmund J. Lilly, Jr. POW Papers
The Colonel Edmund J. Lilly collection is an open collection of papers relating to the military service and experiences of a P.O.W. in the World War II Pacific Theater. Col. Lilly was born in North Carolina and graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1915. In 1917, he received a commission in the regular Army. In 1941 he was sent to Manila in the Philippines to serve in the U.S. Army's Philippine Division. He became the commander of the 57th Philippine Scout Regiment. The unit served on Bataan during the Japanese invasion. He became a P.O.W. in April 1942 when the Americans surrendered to the Japanese. For the next 40 months he was in various Japanese P.O.W. camps. To keep his sanity, he maintained a diary in tiny notebooks. In addition to the diary he wrote down poems, songs, recipes, rules for Bridge and everything he could remember. After his release from the camp, he spend 6 months in a hospital and eventually returned to active duty. He retired from the Army in 1953 and returned to North Carolina. His collection of diaries, memorabilia and other materials was donated to the Combined Arms Research Library in 1998 by his daughters, Elizabeth Ann Lilly Barrett and Victoria Lilly MacMillan.
Orville Wells Martin, Jr. Collection
Colonel Orville Wells Martin Jr., U.S. Army, Retired, was editor in chief of the Military Review from March 1972 to May 1974. The collection consists of historical articles, pamphlets, leaflets, and guides collected or written by Colonel Martin about Fort Leavenworth.
Warnock, BG Alan D. Paper (1920-1946)
BG Warnock served in the U.S. Army from 1913 until 1946. The material in the collection does not cover his entire career, but is fragmentary. It begins with his attendance at the Company Officer Basic Course at Fort Benning, GA in 1920 and ends in 1946.
The bulk of the collection deals with his time in Hawaii from 1931-1935. This includes official plans and memorandums relating to exercises conducted annually in Hawaii. There are some reports of various boards BG Warnock sat on, including courts martial and planning for future transportation needs of the Army in Hawaii.There is also a lot of material from his time as an instructor at the Command and General Staff School at Fort Leavenworth from 1937-1941.
Karl. D. White, Philippine Insurrection Diaries
Private Karl D. White was a member of Company K of the 32nd. He served with the unit from its formation in 1899, until his discharge in 1901. He kept diaries of his service time in three small notebooks. The diaries begin in October 1899, when he left Honolulu on the transport ship Glenogle, and continue until May 6, 1901, when he was in San Francisco awaiting discharge. After the war, he returned to his home town of Independence, Kansas, where he became a mail carrier. He was an active member of the 32nd Volunteer Infantry Association from its formation in 1934, until his death in 1940. The diaries were donated to the 32nd Volunteer Infantry Association upon his death. When the organization dissolved in the 1960's, the diaries were donated to the Frontier Army Museum at Fort Leavenworth, along with the papers of the organization. They were later transferred to the Combined Arms Research Library where they are available for use by researchers.
United States Disciplinary Barracks Collection
The United States Disciplinary Barracks Collection is a partially restricted collection of materials pertaining to the organization, operations, and history of the oldest military prison in the United States. The collection includes material such as topical files, annual reports, correspondence, histories, guides, photographs, and various ephemera.
Ernest Woodcock Collection
The Ernest Woodcock Collection is an open, processed collection containing photographs, letters, newspaper clippings and ephemera pertaining to the World War I military service of Ernest E. Woodcock of Topeka, Kansas. The collection is contained in one 101/2" x 5" box. There are 5 folders of papers; one envelope containing programs, funeral cards, small photos, a medal and a lock of hair; and 20 5 x 7 and larger photographs. The material was received in several different folders and envelopes and was reorganized by the archives staff into a loose subject arrangement.
The provenance of the material is unknown, although Ernest's sister Alice wrote one of the biographical notes found in the collection.
World War I Peace Conference Documents
This small collection of documents contains various papers relating to the Versailles and Paris Peace conferences held after World War I. The collection is not a complete record of the peace conferences. The material was donated to the Combined Arms Research Library by the Liberty Memorial Museum in Kansas City, Missouri.