Home: Doctrine: Army Leadership: Home

Army Leadership Doctrine

Image of the cover of FM 22-100, 1953.

This guide provides information on manuals, circulars, and pamphlets for effective application and training of the principles and techniques of Army leadership.

Feel free to e-mail Ask-a-Librarian or call (913) 758-3053 if you have questions or comments concerning this guide.

Image source: CARL Digital Library.

CARL's Military Publications Guides

Finding Military Publications Provides information on finding current and obsolete military publications, primarily Army doctrine.
Doctrine: Army Leadership List of manuals, circulars, and pamphlets for effective application and training of the principles and techniques of leadership.
Doctrine: Army Operations Provides information on and links to Army Operations Doctrine.
Doctrine: Large Units Provide information on and links to Army Large Unit Doctrine, which includes divisions, corps, and armies.

Leadership Resources

Doctrine: Army Leadership List of manuals, circulars, and pamphlets for effective application and training of the principles and techniques of leadership.
History of Army Officer Education This guide is meant as a starting point for lesser known sources on the history of Army Officer Education. There are no journal articles or newspaper articles listed from the CARL's journal subscriptions, although search terms and links to the databases are provided for assistance. What this guide contains are studies, papers, histories and doctrine that won't be found in a commercial database or by doing a Google search.
Leadership This guide provides basic information on leadership.
Leaders of Character Reading List This guide provides the current Army University Educating Leaders of Character Reading List.
Toxic and Counterproductive Leadership This guide provides information on toxic leadership. Note that the U.S. Army, per AR 600-100 (2017) includes "toxic leadership" under the larger concept of "counterproductive leadership".

Some Books and Papers About Army Leadership Doctrine

U. S. Army Management Evolution, 1946-1960 by Hentschel Timothy This book examines the transformation of the United States Army between 1946 and 1960 as it shifted its approach to warfare from massive mobilization to deterrence based on forces-in-being. In particular it examines methods used to develop managerial characteristics and skills in its officer corps. Throughout the latter part of the 1940's the U.S. Army struggled to comprehend and adapt to a changing environment. Ultimately the creation of large, peacetime, forces-in-being resulted in a need for the Army to change not only its approach to warfighting but also its methods of training its managerial cadre-the officer corps. This book traces the changes the Army experienced prior to the Second World War and ties those changes to the Army's post World War II transformation. Also, the legislative underpinnings of the Department of Defense and the key geo-political events of the time are examined and placed into an evolutionary flow. This book will appeal to those with a passing interest in the early years of post-World War II American history, global geo-politics, and the U.S. military as well as those conducting scholarly research in any of these areas.
ISBN: 9783639662283
Publication Date: 2014-07-31
Leadership by Christopher Kolenda (Editor); Barry R. McCaffrey (Foreword by); Gordon Sullivan (Contribution by); Conrad C. Crane (Contribution by); Frederick W. Kagan (Contribution by) Cory McClintock tiene el poder de salvar el mundo. Su papá está tirado en el suelo en un charco de sangre. Un sujeto detestable aparece en un BMW color negro alegando ser su tío desaparecido desde hace mucho tiempo, y encima de todo, un grupo de científicos de pronto reconoce que las profecías mayas de 5000 años de antigüedad acerca del fin del mundo pueden ser ciertas.¿Entonces, por qué todos están tratando de conseguir un pedazo de Cory?Porque según esa profecía, para salvar el mundo de la inminente destrucción lo único que Cory debe hacer es...morir.
ISBN: 9780970968203
Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Bradley, Omar N. "On Leadership." Parameters (Sep 1981) Reprinted from winter 1972 issue.
Four decades and five manuals: U.S. Army strategic leadership doctrine, 1983-2011 School of Advanced Studies monograph by Keith Purvis. This monograph analyzes the history of United States Army leadership doctrine from 1983 through 2011 to identify the evolution of strategic leadership theory and practice in Army doctrine.

Leadership Bibliographies

The U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center (AHEC) has several bibliographies related to leadership.

Leadership Overview Leadership in historical perspective.
Mentoring U.S. Army Mentoring.