_________________________________________________________________
CGSC Core Materials:
Distance students will login with the username and password listed in Blackboard. Click on the "Remotely Accessing e-Books, e-Journals & Databases" tab above to learn how to find the current usernames and passwords for our distance learners.
Resident students will need to sign up for a library account here: Register
The Cambridge History of Warfare by
The new edition of The Cambridge History of Warfare, written and updated by a team of eight distinguished military historians, examines how war was waged by Western powers across a sweeping timeframe beginning with classical Greece and Rome, moving through the Middle Ages and the early modern period, down to the wars of the twenty-first century in Afghanistan, Iraq, and Syria. The book stresses five essential aspects of the Western way of war: a combination of technology, discipline, and an aggressive military tradition with an extraordinary capacity to respond rapidly to challenges and to use capital rather than manpower to win. Although the focus remains on the West, and on the role of violence in its rise, each chapter also examines the military effectiveness of its adversaries and the regions in which the West's military edge has been - and continues to be - challenged.
Defeat into Victory by
These memoirs rank with those of Ulysses S. Grant as one of the few honest testaments [of war].--The Readers Companion to Military History
The Dynamics of Military Revolution, 1300-2050 by
The Dynamics of Military Revolution aims to bridge a major gap in the emerging literature on revolutions in military affairs, suggesting that there have been two very different phenomena at work over the past centuries: 'military revolutions', which are driven by vast social and political changes; and 'revolutions in military affairs', which military institutions have directed, although usually with great difficulty and ambiguous results. By providing both a conceptual framework and a historical context for thinking about revolutionary changes in military affairs, the work establishes a baseline for understanding the patterns of change, innovation, and adaptation that have marked war in the Western World since the thirteenth century - beginning with Edward III's revolutionary changes in medieval warfare, through the development of modern Western military institutions in seventeenth-century France, to the cataclysmic changes of the First World War and the German Blitzkrieg victories of 1940. This history provides a guide for thinking about military revolutions in the coming century, which are as inevitable as they are difficult to predict.
Makers of Modern Strategy from Machiavelli to the Nuclear Age by
The essays in this volume analyze war, its strategic characterisitics and its political and social functions, over the past five centuries. The diversity of its themes and the broad perspectives applied to them make the book a work of general history as much as a history of the theory and practice of war from the Renaissance to the present. Makers of Modern Strategy from Machiavelli to the Nuclear Age takes the first part of its title from an earlier collection of essays, published by Princeton University Press in 1943, which became a classic of historical scholarship. Three essays are repinted from the earlier book; four others have been extensively revised. The rest--twenty-two essays--are new. The subjects addressed range from major theorists and political and military leaders to impersonal forces. Machiavelli, Clausewitz, and Marx and Engels are discussed, as are Napoleon, Churchill, and Mao. Other essays trace the interaction of theory and experience over generations--the evolution of American strategy, for instance, or the emergence of revolutionary war in the modern world. Still others analyze the strategy of particular conflicts--the First and Second World Wars--or the relationship between technology, policy, and war in the nuclear age. Whatever its theme, each essay places the specifics of military thought and action in their political, social, and economic environment. Together the contributors have produced a book that reinterprets and illuminates war, one of the most powerful forces in history and one that cannot be controlled in the future without an understanding of its past.
Military Innovation in the Interwar Period by
In 1914, the armies and navies that faced each other were alike right down to the strengths of their companies and battalions and the designs of their battleships and cruisers. Differences were of degree rather than essence. During the interwar period, however, the armed forces grew increasingly asymmetrical, developing different approaches to the same problems. This study of major military innovations in the 1920s and 1930s explores differences in exploitation by the seven major military powers. The comparative essays investigate how and why innovation occurred or did not occur, and explain much of the strategic and operative performance of the Axis and Allies in World War II. The essays focus on several instances of how military services developed new technology and weapons and incorporated them into their doctrine, organisation and styles of operations.
On War by
The most authoritative and feature-rich edition of On War in English Carl von Clausewitz's On War is the most significant attempt in Western history to understand war, both in its internal dynamics and as an instrument of policy. Since the work's first appearance in 1832, it has been read throughout the world, and has stimulated generations of soldiers, political leaders, and intellectuals. First published in 1976 and revised in 1984, Michael Howard and Peter Paret's Princeton edition of Clausewitz's classic work has itself achieved classic status and is widely regarded as the best translation and standard edition of On War in English. This feature-rich edition includes an essay by Paret on the genesis of Clausewitz's book, an essay by Howard on Clausewitz's influence, and an essay by Bernard Brodie on the continuing relevance of On War. In addition, Brodie provides a lengthy and detailed commentary on and guide to reading On War, and the edition also includes a comprehensive index.
CGSC Materials:
Rethinking the Principles of War by
This work features the fresh thinking of twenty-eight leading authors from a variety of military and national security disciplines. Following an introduction by Lt. Gen. James Dubik, Commander I Corps, U.S. Army, the anthology first considers the general question of whether there is a distinctly American way of war. Dr. Colin Gray's opening essay "The American Way of War: Critique and Implications" provides a state of the question perspective. Sections on operational art, with writers addressing the issues in both conventional and small wars; stability and reconstruction; and intelligence complete the volume. Among the well-known contributors are Robert Scales, Mary Kaldor, Ralph Peters, Jon Sumida, Grant Hammond, Milan Vego, and T.X. Hammes. The anthology is part of a larger Rethinking the Principles project, sponsored by the Office of Force Transformation and the U.S. Navy to examine approaches to the future of warfare. Footnotes, index, and a bibliographic essay make the work a useful tool for students of war and general readers alike.
Toward Combined Arms Warfare by
The history of ground combat in the twentieth century is to a large extent the history of the evolution of combined arms warfare. The impact of technology, the expansion of armed forces, the advent of complex controlling, planning, and organizational structures, and the attendant growth of functional specialization, are all developments which have rendered the conduct of modern war a complex and multifaceted undertaking. Nowhere has change been more evident than on the battlefield itself, where the challenges of combat have simultaneously (and almost paradoxically) mandated greater differentiation and increased integration among the various arms and services.This study focuses on a key aspect of change, the development of combined arms doctrine, tactics, and organization at the division level and below. Captain Jonathan House begins his treatment with the pre1914 period, when the various combat arms retained separate functions and required only rudimentary coordination. Through two world wars and numerous lesser conflicts he traces the gradual integration of the different arms and services into a mechanized team. Of special interest in his account is the parallel development of the command and control mechanisms and procedures necessary to orchestrate the employment of combined arms on the modern battlefield. Throughout the analysis Captain House underscores the significance of recurring problems and themes, including the difficulties of air-ground cooperation, equipment design and acquisition, and inter-service and intra-service rivalries. Many if not all of these issues are relevant to contemporary discussions on doctrinal development.Toward Combined Arms Warfare is also a primer in force design. By tracing general trends in division organization within the armed forces of various powers, including the United States Army, Captain House provides force developers with useful historical perspective on many key issues. Some of the more salient include questions related to the balance of arms within an organization, the level at which arms should be integrated, and complications that stem from task organizing units by attaching nonorganic elements. If "the past too may serve," then an examination of these and other problems within their historical context affords valuable insight into concerns of enduring importance for both theoreticians and practitioners.Dave R. PalmerMajor General, USADeputy Commandant
Supplemental Academic Writing and Reading Books:
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by All books are available for purchase from major book sellers.
Ask a Librarian
Have a question? You can submit questions through our Ask A Librarian service to contact one of CARL's reference librarians. Messages will be answered within one business day. Please identify yourself as a distance learner to better assist you.
Librarian Consultations
If you need more in-depth assistance, Ask A Librarian the best method to make an appointment for a consultation with a librarian.
You can also call 913-758-3053 during library's open hours to speak with a librarian.
Click on Start Your Research for more information.
CARL provides remote access to e-books, e-journals, and databases for current faculty, students, and staff through the following methods:
A Username and Password is required to remotely access CARL's e-books, e-journals, and databases. Below are the steps in locating these:
-Log into Blackboard
--Click on the Organization Page tab (i.e., located in the top left-hand corner upon first logging in)
-- If you are a Satellite Student, click on the Satellite Student Services & Admin tab (i.e., located under CGSC Resident & Satellite Student Resources at the top of the page)
-- If you are a DDE Student, click on the ADL/AOC/TASS Student Services & Administration tab, depending on which course you are enrolled in (i.e., located under DDE Student Resources at the top of the page)
--Click on the Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) located on the left menu
--Next, look in the "Start Here" module at the top of the page. Click on your program: DDE ADL, DDE TASS, or DDE AOC
--Locate the box labeled Database Access, found near the top of the page. Inside the box you will find two Usernames and Passwords (Note: these are blocked out on the screenshot below)
Because of licensing restrictions, some of CARL's online databases are only available from outside the library to users who (1) are CGSC students, faculty, or staff, (2) have a library account, or (3) have access to CGSC Blackboard.
Who is a distant learner?
Students (1) enrolled in the Department of Distance Education (DDE) or The Army School System (TASS) courses or (2) who attend classes at the CGSC satellite campuses are considered distant learners and are therefore supported by the Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library (CARL). Such students have access to CARL’s online resources (e.g., journal article databases, e-books, language instruction).
The homepage of the catalog displays the following message. What does it mean?
Since distance learners are not issued individual library accounts, this message does not apply to them. They may search for materials in the catalog but will not have access to the hyperlinks to online materials from the catalog. Therefore it is recommended that distance learners directly access CARL’s databases, e-book collections, and Digital Library in order to search and access digital items.
How can I find magazine and journal articles?
CARL subscribes to several full-text article databases. The "Big Three"--EBSCOhost, ProQuest, and JSTOR--are listed on the A-Z Databases page. Use these if you are looking for articles on a given topic. If you have a specific citation, use the Journal Search to see if CARL has access to that particular journal in full text in one our databases.
Where do I get find the Username and Password to login?
Distant learners are to use the Usernames and Passwords found on Blackboard. Directions can be found on the Remotely Accessing e-books, e-journals & Databases tab above. (Resident students and eligible members of the Fort Leavenworth community will need to obtain an account with CARL). We are unable to provide accounts for persons who do not fall into one of these categories.
How can I get full text resources?
Most of the databases that CARL subscribes to largely contain full-text articles. Our major journal article databases allow you to limit a search to full text only. One Search can also be restricted to full text.
CARL has access to two major vendors of e-books: ProQuest (Ebook Central) and EBSCO.
CARL’s own Digital Library contains a variety of full-text items such as World War II operational documents and obsolete military manuals. These items are available to the public.
The hyperlink to my course reading doesn’t work. What do I do?
Sometimes the proxied link to an article breaks and you are asked to log in with credentials not provided in Blackboard. If you have a specific citation, use the Journal Search to see if CARL has access to that particular journal in full text in one our databases. Feel free to contact CARL staff for assistance as well.
How do I cite my sources for my paper?
ST22-2, Leader Communication provides guidance for citing a variety of sources. It can be found in the Master Library on Blackboard. The Citation Style Guides page is another source to consult.
To borrow books or receive photocopied/digitized journal articles from CARL, contact your post or local library's interlibrary loan (ILL) service. It may find a closer library that has the item you need, allowing you to receive the item sooner.
Please check our catalog and databases to see if CARL already has the item you need before submitting a request. If necessary, a local librarian can find the item for you.
Eligible Material Types:
Ineligible Material Types:
Limits to Copies:
Faculty Development Division: For Remote/Distance and Resident Faculty:
Note that e-Books require you to log in with a username and password. Distance faculty can find these in Blackboard. Click on the "Remotely Accessing e-books, e-journals & Databases" tab above to learn how to find the current usernames and passwords for our distance learners.
An Evidence-Based Guide to College and University Teaching by
What makes a good college teacher? This book provides an evidence- based answer to that question by presenting a set of "model teaching characteristics" that define what makes a good college teacher. Based on six fundamental areas of teaching competency　 known as Model Teaching Characteristics outlined by The Society for the Teaching of Psychology (STP), this book describes how college faculty from all disciplines and at all levels of experience can use these characteristics to evaluate, guide, and improve their teaching. Evidence based research supports the inclusion of each characteristic, each of　 which is illustrated through example, to help readers master the skills. Readers learn to evaluate their teaching abilities by providing guidance on what to document and how to accumulate and organize the evidence. Two introductory chapters outline the model teaching characteristics followed by six chapters, each devoted to one of the characteristics: training, instructional methods, course content, assessment, syllabus construction, and student evaluations. The book: -Features in each chapter self-evaluation surveys that help readers identify gaps between the model characteristics and their own teaching, case studies that illustrate common teaching problems, discussion questions that encourage critical thinking, and additional readings for further exploration. -Discusses the need to master teaching skills such as collaborative learning, listening, and　 using technology as well as discipline-specific knowledge. -Advocates for the use of student-learning outcomes to help teachers better evaluate student performance based on their achievement of specific learning goals. -Argues for the development of learning objectives that reflect the core of the discipline's theories and applications, strengthen basic liberal arts skills, and infuse ethical and diversity issues. -Discusses how to solicit student feedback and utilize these evaluations to improve teaching. Intended for professional development or teacher training courses offered in masters and doctoral programs in colleges and universities, this book is also an invaluable resource for faculty development centers, college and university administrators, and college teachers of all levels and disciplines, from novice to the most experienced, interested in becoming more effective teachers.